1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dedicating GTS250 to PhysX

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by _Zod_, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Ok so I'm running a lowly 550Ti and have this GTS250 sitting doing nothing and I thought, why not dedicate it to PhysX for the one lousy game I pay that can use it. Problem is, I'm not sure if this 600 Watt PS is going to be able to handle the load.

    Now, let me say that while this PS is basically a no name-er, it is pretty solid, I even had a short on the 12v which took out a hard drive (flames and all) but the PS kept going like a champ. Though I may have to see if I can provide it with more airflow.

    Anyway, these are what I am working with:

    hec X-Power Pro 600 600W Continuous @ 40°C ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply

    MSI N250GTS-2D512-OCv2 GeForce GTS 250 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

    EVGA 01G-P3-1556-KR GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) FPB 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

    Plus 3 hard disk drives.

    I'm thinking probably no based on the supposed current requirements of te GTS250 but more input would be appreciated.
     
  2. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    _Zod_ says thanks.
  3. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Ok that link had nothing to do with what I was asking, but thanks? :nutkick:

    Also, it isn't, I've already tried PhysX on the 550Ti by itself and it cannot handle the added load. The game itself is pretty poorly optimized.
     
  4. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    984 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Not really. Enabling cuda physx on 550 ti hurts frame rate especially in full hd. Dedicated GTX 250 (G92) would be better option (noisier and hotter also). Problem is that often no name PSUs are not as powerful as they are rated.
     
    _Zod_ says thanks.
  5. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    im lost here, you want to add a "dedicated physx card" yet that thread is stickied and meant for questions like this...

    I Assume the answer you wanted was that your card is not sufficient enough for the resolution you are playing at. Even with a dedicated physX card.
     
  6. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Adding the GTS250 will help PhysX, but that PSU will not handle it... I had an HEC power supply in one of my builds for a while, it killed 3 hard drives and a Radeon 3870.
     
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    No its a question of is this power supply good enough and id say a risky yes but it's edge of spec , thing is physx dosnt load acard that high in most games so you might be ok
     
    _Zod_ and xxdozer322 say thanks.
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,357 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    760
    well u can get better cards then GTS250 now adays even some that have more cuda cores and uses less power and give better physx :cool:
     
  9. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Lets for the moment assume it is in fact not over-rated, lets say it's a Corsair or a PC Power and Cooling at the same 600 watts, what then?

    How about I rephrase the question in a way that doesn't involve PhysX even if that is what I am dealing with:

    Can my power supply SLI 2 GTS250's without exploding assuming the spec's of the PS are legit?
     
  10. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    It's been pretty damn solid, survived a short circuit that took out a hard drive in flames and the PC didn't even shut down (which kinda tells me it has no short circuit protection :eek:)

    The thing is though that nVidia or MSI, did not add any kind of voltage throttling to the 250, so that sucker is running full bore regardless of load :ohwell:
     
  11. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I wouldn't try it... See my post above. I will never ever trust an HEC or other "no name" power supply again. I lost too much with the terrible one I had. it was a 550W model iirc, and it managed to kill a single 3870, and later a bunch of drives in another PC.
     
    _Zod_ says thanks.
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    you wont see any performance benefits as the 5 series is enough to do physx by himself.

    but still worth a try...
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    According to the specs of the PSU you should be good to go. It's up to you if you want to trust it or not.
     
    _Zod_ says thanks.
  14. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    611 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I watched that guy Linus while he was doing PhysiX card testing and basically he came to the conclusion that in order for the PhysiX card to add to the experince it has to be the same generation. What I mean is like you have 550ti, then let's say GT520 or something of the sort. But don't quot me on that.
    Final words: try it for the science and for the experince - I for one wouldn't want to discourage you or kill the enthusiasm. Have fun. But I personally wouldn't keep it probably on the long run.

    P.S

    I went back to check the video, so that I refresh my memory and not tarnish his/mine reputation. Here's a link. I got it wrong- he said "something fast enough". I had only remembered his very last word of the video that has the word last-generation, but it doesn't refer to the whole idea. That's why I added, don't quote me on it. I stand corrected, appolgies.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013
    _Zod_ says thanks.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    Well I'm quoting you but if Linus did say that he is wrong. As for your final words, I completely agree with you.
     
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    dont trust linus. he seems like just a pretty face to me sometimes. his video skills seem better than his geek skills.
    he does good reviews on cases and stuff though.
     
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,971 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes. the card just needs to be from about the 8800GT/9800GT cards or higher for PhysX to be done on the GPU.

    That is probably the first time ive seen Linus wrong too. Usually he is right in a lot of cases, hes been in this business for quite some time.
     
  18. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    I do use a GTS250 for PhysX with my GTX570. It runs all the PhysX game without issues, even the new ones like Hawken and Warframe.

    Is my GTX570 enough to do everything? Probably yes, but since i already had the GTS250 and it seems to be doing a pretty good job, i'll keep using it as a PPU.

    If your PSU can handle both cards go ahead with it.
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,971 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well that's what he is questioning. If his PSU could handle it if he went ahead and did it.
     
  20. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    984 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Let's not assume, let's trust PHaS3 who owned it.
     
  21. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,244 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    652
    If the PSU could handle what it was rated for, it would be fine...

    550 Ti = 115W
    GTS 250 = 150W
    CPU = 125W
    Other = 50W

    Total = 430W if everything was running 100% load (stress testing).

    That said, most HEC PSUs are dubious at best and if you start having problems, that is the first place I would look. If you have the money for a quality 600W PSU to replace I would do that, but in the meantime you should be fine if you want to take the risk.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page