1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Churns Out AMD-based Inspiron 546

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,695 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Dell introduced its first AMD-based mainstream PC lineup in over 18 months. The company had stopped announcing AMD-based products as its CPU lineup were losing in competitiveness. The Inspiron 546, as American-Statesman's Kirk Ladendorf notes, "could signal a shift in the ongoing relationship between Dell and AMD, which has gone through warm and cold spells in recent years." Inspiron 546 represents one of Dell's most important desktop PC SKUs, that is extensively promoted online.

    Priced in the US $270~$710 range, Inspiron 546 models come in four main configurations, featuring Sempron, Athlon X2, Phenom X3, and Phenom X4 processors, with ATI Radeon HD 3200 series graphics. The chassis comes with 8 colour bezel types to choose from. It can further be customised with a variety of Dell monitors, HDD capacities, and memory amounts.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: American-Statesman
     
  2. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    i can imagine these doing quite well I know my sis and various friends (mostly girls..) would like a pink or white computer etc.. :)
     
  3. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    So these are going to use the old 65nm Phenom I series CPUs rather than the 45nm Phenom IIs?
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    It would seem that way, and knowing Dell they have probably neglected to add support to the BIOS for the newer 45nm chips...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. captainskyhawk

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    The XPS 625 line has support for the 45nm chips
     
  6. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I like 'em. Good for AMD to drop old stock, good for Dell to get good chips at rock bottom prices, and good for consumers to get a slick PC for a more-than-reasonable price. Honestly I didn't think the prices were that great at first glance, but considering the fact that you're getting a halfway decent 17/19" monitor as well and I can't see why a mainstream consumer would bother with much else.

    A note though: There seems to be a typo on Dell's site. Header reads 20" but the specs and config page both peg it at 19", which seems a bit more likely.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    ... Taste the rainbow
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nice, I like this. Phenom 1 isn't that bad as long as it's the B3 stepping (L3 bug fixed). I sport one myself.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    they seem to be about the same specs as my media PC. i can attest to them doing 100% of everything i use my PC for, excluding gaming.
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,755 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,655
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Skittles! :D

    That's so random. :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    My 7750 is fine for gaming, even at stock. I only overclocked to to 3GHz becaue I can, and always wanted a chip running at or above 3GHz. Lord knows I tried to get my 5200+ to run at 3GHz but alas it was an F2 stepping chip...

    They have the 7750 available, seriously the 7750 is a great chip. 90% of PC users dont need anything more than dual core, quad core is mostly a gimmic to get average joe to think it will be faster because it has 4 cores, man... however it does have its uses, like AutoCAD and Photoshop
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I think he is referring to the variety of colors you can choose.
    I wouldn't mind getting one for a linux box or just to mess around with.
    Glad to see Dell releasing comps with AMD
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    they do come in every color of the rainbow.
     
  14. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    I don't doubt this, but I think the whole uBuntu push has slaughtered AMD's relationships with dell recently.

    Ati's drivers are a Cluster**** for Linux still. My x1800xl, x1600, and x850xt are all out of date for the latest xorg.
     
  15. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Seriously. My next chip is going to be an Athlon II -- two cores is all I need, and the fact that they overclock to nearly 4GHz with a decent heatsink is just fun, considering I can get the chip for only $65 or so. :D

    I doubt if it's really made that big of a deal -- most Dell computers are just Intel IGP's, and they work great with Linux (most of the ones I've seen with Ubuntu installed are that way, too).
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I agree, but it would also have been nice to see the 245, 250, and 550 available.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,430 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Ugh, not surprising. I just spent a week with Dell sales and the website looking for the "the" configuration for my users - and I wasn't able to find it. There was always one thing that kept me from buying any of the systems in all of their lineups. Oh well, we're now entertaining the idea of just building our own.

    With a PII, I'd be very interested. Unfortunately I fall into that other 10%.
     
  18. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    give gateway(acer) a yell, at times they will do custom configs for companies if the orders a decent size, and you get full warr thru them, not as good as custom build quility but alot better then dell!!!
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Great way to get rid of all the old phenoms :) People who are building machines aren't going to want old phenoms, but the people who buy dells aren't going to be able to tell the difference between a 9550 and a 955.
     
  20. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    We used a custom configuration and software set where I work(Dell Optiplex's).

    But you have to have a pretty good order size(Lol Dell semi docked at our warehouse) to get the "awesome" stuff :roll:


    That's the same with any company though.
     
  21. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,430 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Only 26 new machines here :)

    I was able to push for what I wanted software-wise (Vista Biz with 7 Upgrade) regardless of machine, but they wouldn't budge on most hardware.
     
  22. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    I thought the same thing when I saw the pic.

    Great minds.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page