1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell inspiron 530 graphics card upgrade

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by HavoK188, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, i have been looking for a graphics card for my computer for a while now and most of them are either :
    A. Rubbish
    B. Use to much power for my 350w psu
    C. Are too much

    So i have recently registered so i can at long last find a suitable one :D
    What I want :

    1. Good value for money
    2. No more than £50
    3. capable of running games such as TF2 , Minecraft , Terraria and Portal 2 at decent settings
    4. relatively easy to install as i'm new to all this

    System Specs :

    Standard dell inspiron 530 with Intel core 2 Quad
    3GB of RAM
    350w PSU

    apart from that im not really sure, but i haven't changed it

    Also, I was thinking about this, would it work ? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sapphire-11192-&tag=tec053-21 ... rvi_cart_3

    Thanks, Robert :D
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  2. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    pretty much any GPU capable of meeting your requirements would need atleast 400Ws of power.
    but i guess its good enough for a 6570 or a 6550. but remember that your power supply WILL be in strain.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    see if you can find a 9800GT green edition.
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I've got an 8800gt(512mb) that runs fine with a similar set-up ( 300w psu)

    I'm after £30 for it if you are interested : ]



    If you are after brand new let me know and I'll hunt around, fairly good at finding bargains!
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    If you want the best card for that machine, look for a 7750 ($109). The next step down would be a 6670 or a GT 440 (preferably GDDR5 for both). Does your PC have a 6 pin connector on the PSU (the mid-2000s Dell 350w PSUs typically have one) and how many open slots are available for the card? (If BTX, there needs to be an open slot ABOVE the x16 slot for dual slot cards).
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Unfortunately all the cards you mentioned are over £50.
  7. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thanks, i was thinking a saphire 6570 1gb, would this run well on my pc ?
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well it will certainly run the games you want to run, I think they are as powerful as the ole 3850/3870 cards only they use less power.

    If you can stretch a bit further though I would : ]

    I recommend this webshop by the by if you going for new https://www.aria.co.uk/ great customer service and lowest prices in the UK.



    Infact ! https://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecial...R3 PCI-Express Graphics Card ?productId=50957 BARGAIN 6670(2gb) for £50 : ]
  9. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  11. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I contacted dell they said the system uses 320w max and the gpu uses 25w and that uses 66, surely it wouldn't have enough power ?
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    It's very unlikely you'll use the maximum capacity of your powersupply unit whilst playing a game.


    Even a computer like mine only uses 400-450 watts whilst gaming, and that mostly because the CPU when overclocked gobbles up power like a monster :laugh:


    Like I said, I've a 8800 gt ( which uses up to 150w) in a system with a 300 PSU the cpu in that system is a q6600 that's overclocked : ] and it runs games fine.



    I just used this tool and they think a 261w PSU ( if such a thing existed) would do fine, I'm inclined to agree.
    http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Whoops, I apologize for not reading the OP fully.

    The 6570 should be good enough for a decent experience in the games you listed. Don't know what the resolution of your monitor is, but you can probably almost max out the games without antialiasing if you are running under 1920*1080. Glad you have a Core 2 Quad in there as it's pretty much essential for TF2.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so you think i should buy the card you suggested ?

    also would this work : Asus AMD Radeon HD 6670 Graphics Card (1GB, DDR3, PCI-Express, AMD CrossFireX Technology)
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yup it's the same card only with 1gb instead of 2gb.

    If it's around £10 cheaper I'd go for it.

    If you are still not sure I'll send some other folks this way to add their input.


    I actually found a 6670 for sale which was £50 on the dot soon after saying that XD
  16. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks :)

    I'm just a bit nervous as i don't know much about this and don't want to waste money on something that doesn't work
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    If you can find one, a 6670 GDDR5 version is better, but those always command a higher price. The DDR3 versions tend to suffer from the 50% less memory bandwidth.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    to be fair i think thats beyond my price reach :(
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I think gddr3 would be fine for something the speed of a 3870-4830 : ]
  20. HavoK188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so what do you think i should go for then ?
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I think you should go for the one I linked to, I did ask a few people to take a look at the thread.

    If you wanted you could ask the people on aria.co.uk if it will run in your system : ]

    There's an ask box on the product page ( they usually get back to you within 24 hours)
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just throwing in my .02

    Go with a 6670 and have fun!
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I love you Jr, love you with my mouth. :toast:
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,606 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Oregon
    6570 6670 5670 but keep in mind and GPU in the rig is going to stress the PSU and Dell does not give you anything extra to work with. There PSU arnt even active PFC or 80+ They go with the cheapest possible PSU. So for a real gaming experience you will need a new PSU and GPU and far above you current budget. If it were me I would sell it and start saving for a gaming rig
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The PSU is fine, I ran a 3.8GHz PII 955BE, 5770 + 6670 folding and crunching on the 350w (2004 dual 18a 12v from Dimension 8300/8400) units for months and they still run to this day. The PSUs may not have all the fancy features of the ones we buy, but they certainly meet their specified output unlike most of the sub $30 PSUs out there.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page