1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Laptop Keyboard not working

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DonInKansas, May 17, 2009.

  1. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    Sooo.....I had to run a virus sweep on a buddie's laptop. Killed something called "Personal Antivirus." Cool, right?

    Well, his keyboard won't work after logging into Vista Home Premium. It works at boot, lwets you type in the password, but after logging into no love from the KB.

    It's a Dell Studio 1735 if that helps. Any ideas?
     
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,270 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    467
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    maybe a simple format would solve it??
     
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
    So does the keyboard show up in Device Manager?
     
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yes, it does show up in DM.

    I think I figured it out. I had a generic mouse plugged into a USB port because I LOATHE those touchpad things. I unplugged the mouse, and the kb worked fine.

    Grouchy little thing...:laugh:
     
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Wow, touchy dell's. Just format it with Win7 and tell him it's the latest upgrade! :laugh:
     
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    LOL--I would, but the laptop's only 6 months old. He'd probably get grouchy in 6 months when he had to buy a new OS or reformat back to VHP.:laugh:

    Now the stupid touchpad won't pop back on after reboot. *grumble*
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page