1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Launches 24-inch Ultra HD Monitor, Preps 28-inch Model

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,773 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,110
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    In addition to introducing the UltraSharp UP3214Q model, Dell is set to add two more Ultra HD (3840 x 2160 pixels) monitors to its offer, a 24-inch model known as UP2414Q and a 28-inch display named P2815Q.

    The UP2414Q should be available shortly and will feature an IPS panel with 99% AdobeRGB and 100% sRGB coverage and 178/178 degree viewing angles, an 8 ms GTG response time, a contrast ratio of 1,000:1 (dynamic contrast ratio is 2,000,000:1), a media card reader, a 4-port USB 3.0 hub, HDMI, DisplayPort and Mini DisplayPort inputs, and a stand enabling tilt, swivel, pivot and height adjustment. This one will cost $1,399. The P2815Q is scheduled to arrive early next year priced at under $1,000.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    1c3d0g and hellrazor say thanks.
  2. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    898 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Australia
    I think you have the prices the wrong way around. 24" should be cheaper than 28"
  3. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    179 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Crazy price ~.~ you can buy Korean monitor 1440p for 300 usd -.- 27 inch 5ms GtC
  4. urza26

    urza26

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I saw that pricing pop up on other sites as well.
    The 28.3 inch version might have a slightly inferior panel, or it is because of the crazy high ppi (for a monitor) that the 24 version is more expensive.
    UP3214Q = $ 3499
    P2815Q = $ 1000
    UP2414Q = $ 1399
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2013
  5. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    898 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok, well that's weird.
  6. Xajel

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    AFAIK, the 28" model is P2815Q, not UP2815Q... if this is correct, then nothing weird as UPxxxx models tends to be higher end models with higher quality panels and designed for design and photography where colour accuracy is important... Pxxxx models are lower quality, they don't have these colour accuracy of UPxxxx... so this 28" will not have 99% AdobeRGB and 100% sRGB coverage...

    Only if I understood this correctly...
  7. urza26

    urza26

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yes, you're right, the 28.3 inch model isn't an Ultrasharp model, my bad.
    I corrected it in my post.
    Though specs claim a 10-bit panel, 99% Adobe RGB and 100% sRGB coverage for the 28.3 model as well, which strikes me as odd for a supposedly 'inferior' panel.
  8. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,563 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Sweet Jesus, am I hallucinating this or did Dell finally man the fuck up and start giving the people what they want? Surely this would never have happened if they had remained public. I would also say that my two cents tells me that the 24" (which I fucking want badly) is probably more expensive due to having a higher PPI than the 28". Either way:
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: That's over 180 PPI! My eyes, they ache for such goodness!
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  9. lobsterrock

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Except that Dell hasn't been private for that long and any significant decisions like this were probably taken before any really significant changes are made in the company.
  10. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,020 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    So a 4K 24" display for 1400$... We need some reviews, specially how will the Windows desktop, but specially the apps will look on native res. Btw, it will be 60Hz?
  11. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Well that is interesting,.....

    While ~$1000 to ~$1400 is still out of the price range of a lot of retail buyers it definitely is a massive improvement over entry-level level pricing for 4K monitors. It used to be that you were lucky to find a used ~22" 4K 30Hz display for around ~$1500.

    I have to wonder where name brand 2560x1600 / 2560x1440 monitor prices will go once these Dell prices (and likely other manufacturers) go into effect?
  12. Bytales

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Are these still tiled displays requiring 2 inputs ? Can anyone tell ?
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    The monitors make no difference when it comes to this, it is the inputs themselves that force you the monitors to have to behave as 2 monitors to achieve 60Hz.

    Dual-Link DVI and Single Stream DisplayPort can't drive 4K@60Hz, that is why MST DisplayPort is needed.

    My eye ache from not being able to read that small of text on the screen...
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    554 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    The new DisplayPort should be able to output 4k without issue. HDMI, regular/old DP and DVI, those would probably be composite/tiled...
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    I could be wrong, but I think the latest DisplayPort only adds more streams, but it didn't increase the bandwidth provided per stream, so you still have to use MST to get 60Hz.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Brusfantomet

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    146 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Looks like dell just released some monitors for me then, yay
  17. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    554 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    And yet, DP is a packet interface, more akin to ethernet than to HDMI. Using parallel streams to increase total bandwidth shouldn't mean you get two distinct display outputs that you need to recompose. I think you can make it output 4k @ 60 Hz if the monitor's image composer will accept it. Perhaps Dell could've been wise and put a Thunderbolt interface on their monitor as well...
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Yeah I am wondering that too... although on parallels W7 does ok, but the font scaling does break half the stuff.
  19. Bytales

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Its about some sort of controller that is suppose to apear later, that support 4k@60hz. That what i was asking about.
  20. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Thats a good question. I don't know how HDMI 2.0 will do it but its a fair bet that there will be new HDMI 2.0 compliant displays in 2014 if not "early" 2014:

    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_...pgrade-path-where-do-the-manufacturers-stand/

    While this is in reference to UHDTV dealing with HDMI 2.0 on new 4K monitors in early 2014 should not be significantly different. However, once again I don't know if HDMI 2.0 is handling things differently then DisplayPort MST to achieve 60Hz,...
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2013
  21. Brusfantomet

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    146 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    according to wikipedia hdmi 2.0 clocks the signal to 600 Mhz (1.4 is 340 Mhz) so if you have a good HDMI cable then it will probably work.
  22. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,563 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    It's your own fault that you're still using an OS that continually punches itself in the face if it renders text at anything other than 96 PPI.
  23. Bytales

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The Extra Bandwith is supposedly attained by increased freq. only. So if you have the faster chip allready inside your TV, all you need is a firmware update.
    Cable wise, it makes no difference.
  24. Bytales

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    What i dont understand is why do we have so many ports, when all monitors TV could do just fine with a display port. Smaller, better, you could cram six of the mini ports on one pci express row, etc

    And the Videocards should all go MiniDisplay port in my opinion. And everything else should be through convertor or adapter. As it is much easier to use a small conector like mini Dysplay, you could have all connectors one one PCI Express row, even for a dual card. And you would always have the posibility to create one slot watercooled card. There are some exemples in this direction:
    http://en.expreview.com/img/2011/04/14/powercolorwchd6990_1.jpg the 6990 for instance, except for the DVI connector, its all sweet. The same configuration uses the 7990 Malta.
    Thats why i hate nvidia for always going dual slot, when you dont have to.

    Im I am ever going to buy Vesuvius, i sure hope it will be able to be watercooled using one slot´like the 6990.
  25. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,020 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    This is a troll post. You just called idiots 99.9% of users who are still using Windows OS. FYI if you use more than 125% DPI scalling in ANY Windows OSes, everything becomes scrambled and retarded, including icons, text overlapping, Java/Flash/ActiveX apps becoming a mess, etc, etc. Talking from experience... ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page