1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell M6400 Laptop - BSOD Installing XP Pro X32

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sasqui, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Laptop: Dell Precision M6400 T9900 CPU, 4GB Ram

    Original Hard drive has XP Pro and is working fine. Bought a second hard drive to play with and want to install XP Pro on it. I have a legit OEM XP Pro COA.

    Trying to install XP, gets to a certain point and BSOD :(

    Tried both a Dell OEM XP Pro (SP1) disk and Retail XP Pro (w/ SP3) disk... boots fine of the CD, goes through the blue installation screens (installing this, that and the other drivers)... stops and suddenly blue screens.

    I thought perhaps it could be the new HDD, so I tried it with the original HDD - same result!

    The laptop has a ICH8M/ICH9M controller, I'm thinking I need to install drivers for those, like it's trying to read the hardware and cant? The only other thing I can think of are network drivers.

    Help!
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Pull memory, really? One thing I wanted to rule out - is the ICH8M and ICH9M controller hub supported in an XP install?
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    That lappy, has so many issues. Mostly it was designed for Vista.(lol)
    And its not a real(true) ICH8(or 9) Its a Dell(proprietary) version, (Probably a 2nd).
    Most users issues were solved with Win 7, but not all.
     
  5. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Did the laptop come with any OS restore CDs ?

    Dell's OS restore CDs often come with a slightly modified version to avoid BSOD.

    If not, try downloading a trial version of vista or win 7 and see if you get any BSOD. Then you will know if it's your laptop or driver issue.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    The COA on the unit is for Vista, don't have any restore disks. I don't have a version of Win 7, but trying to download the "IT Pro" version now...
     
  7. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    I had a similar issue a couple of weeks ago, this is what fixed it for me:

    Updated bios
    Removed all USB devices (this seemed to be the root issue)
     
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Any idea how to flash the new bios? Or find out the current version.

    What model laptop did you have?
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,849 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    could be bad ram - failing that bag the laptop & send that trash back to DELL
     
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Win 7 works fine, I'm typing on it right now. Wondering if I should actually jump and upgrade. There must be a driver somewhere that I can use to install XP :wtf:

    Not a particularly productive suggestion. Though I'd never buy a Dell, I have had luck with thier laptops errm... excepting this time, lol.
     
  11. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    There should be. Otherwise, you wouldn't have had XP in the first place. Unless you have to absolutely use XP for some older programs that no longer work with 7, I'd suggest you jump the boat and use 7.

    Having owned two DELL laptops so far, I know that their OS restore CDs often come with slightly modified drivers to make it work without getting BSOD. For a good example, my Dell XPS M1330, it has vista home premium 32bit. If I use a regular vista 32bit CD, it will get BSOD during install. I have to use DELL's OS restore CD to get it installed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  12. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    i think u have to use a floppy to install them via f6 like a raid driver, no? and seeing your on a lappy you prolly have to make a bootable usb drive with the drivers.

    edit: i had a older sp2 version of windows that would blue screen when installing ich9 unless i had the bootdisk and use f6.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,849 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    I know - but Ive heard of a fair few bad things about dells laptops - one of the members here has had his laptop shipped back & forth from Dell around 3 times & everytime with a faulty hard drive each time. they just gave up in the end, took it outside n put a bullet through it (cant remember what his name is) Ive had my fair share at dealing with friends & families dell laptops which incidently does include hard drives that die within 2-3weeks of recieving the new laptop despite very light usage.

    & the case that they modify the laptop/drivers so you can only install whats on their recovery disk is BS - if they really do that then its all the more reason to stay away from them as it is theoretically locking you from upgrading your OS which can be interpreted as bad, unprofessional & in a slight sense anti competitive?? as they only want you to run what they install on the laptop & nothing else. bit of an underhanded move if you ask me.

    most members here know not to buy a dell laptop no matter how good the spec sounds.

    Alienware on the otherhand are great. not heard any issues about their laptops going wrong but thats probably down to the fact that Dell let Alienware function as a seperate entity rather then merged into one company. otherwise Id expect the same thing to start happening with Alienware laptops
     
  14. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    alienware = dell
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,849 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    I know - but dell lets them function as a seperate entity instead of merging with dell & losing the alienware brand name. similar to AMD & ATi - its still ATi & not AMD graphics. AMD lets ATi function as a seperate entity instead of absorbing them into AMD
     
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,723 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Well dudes, I'm stuck with this laptop, so I'll make the best of it.

    Where to find the OEM Dell XP disk or drivers for this particular model - when the COA is for Vista.

    I want XP!!!
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,849 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    I know about getting a Dell OEM XP CD but im not too sure about getting one with the correct 'drivers'. If you have a local computer fair - its a good place to look as I bought 2 copies (one for me & one for a friend) for a pretty good price.

    due to the nature of this - thats all i can say unfortunately.

    if you have trouble obtaining a copy. I dont mind going to get one for you - as there are usually 3 or 4 computer fairs open on a saturday/sunday in london. but money upfront as im a little short at the moment.

    trust me ;) Ive never screwed anyone over in the trade part of the forums just yet. If you pay me to get it, I will do it for you.

    pm me if your interested
     
    Sasqui says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page