1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Optiplex overclocked but I don´t want to

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jjoel, May 25, 2010.

  1. jjoel New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello,I have a Dell Optiplex 170L
    windows xp home edition sp3
    intel Pentium 4 processor
    this is my problem:I ran Intel Processor Identification Utility and according to it my cpu is overclocked and I haven´t done anything to overclock it,I run that UD utility once in a while but this is the first time I get these numbers.How can I reset the cpu settings to the original one?
    thx in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    It's probably reading the FSB and Clock speeds wrong. If not, you have the current WR :D.

    What does Windows say about your CPU speed?
     
    jjoel says thanks.
  3. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I must get one of those 17Ghz Dell's. I bet it will run Crysis. :roll:

    Seriously though, download a copy of CPU-Z and see what it says. You can grab it here ---->http://www.cpuid.com/
     
    jjoel says thanks.
  4. jjoel New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx for the quick help

    How do I check out with windows the cpu speed?and what is WR?
    This is what I got with Cpuid
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    it says your cpu is running normal at 2.8ghz it's not overclocked and WR= World Record
     
    jjoel says thanks.
  6. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Just to be very clear,

    Your CPU is running at it's normal speed. In CPU-Z, the 'Core Speed' tells you how fast your CPU is running. In your case, your CPU is at 2793 MHz which is equal to 2.793 GHz, which is very very close to 2.8GHz.

    The Intel Processor Identification Utility is showing incorrect information. Your CPU is not overcocked. Just ignore that program. CPU-Z gives you the correct speed.
     
    jjoel says thanks.
  7. jjoel New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK,that you all for your help,one last thing,the Intel Processor ID utily was running fine until this week,everytime I run it my computer stop responding for like 1 minute and the task manager goes 100% of use.I don´t know why that program stop working fine.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page