1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell PSU Upgrade to a custom PSU

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by CrazyApple, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. CrazyApple New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, ive got a dell dimension e520. Their PSU is a stock Dell 305W psu.

    The information about my psu is right here:

    Code:
    +5V = 22A
    +3.3V = 17A
    +12VA = 18A
    +12VB = 18A
    -12V = 1A
    +5Vfp = 2A
    
    Connectors:
    24Pin Motherboard and CPU Connector
    4 x 5Pin SATA Power Connectors
    1 x 4Pin IDE Power Connector
    1 Floppy drive power connector
    Now, i need to get a new GPU since my pc is really old. I already got my new CPU & RAM but my pc is constantly bsod-ing/shutting down cause of the heat.

    I've looked around the internet what i should get, and i came to the conclusion to get this new psu: CORSAIR TX650 V2.
    Newegg link: CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2....

    I need you guys suggestion if it will blow up my pc. It doesnt matter if it fits in my case or not. I will just get a saw and saw my a piece of my case and add some new screws. So that ain't a problem.

    If anyone can suggest another better or cheaper PSU (good one) please give me an additional info about it.

    Thank you, Apple.
     
  2. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    could you post the specs for the rig or at least the service tag? Depending on the cost of psu + gpu it might be better to sell the dell and build new.
     
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    How beefy of a video card are you putting in there? Any slot-powered card should work fine. My dad got an E520 with a C2D 2.13 and I upgraded the GeForce 7300 LE to a GT 220 I had lying around without any issues.

    The PSU in those has a slightly larger size than normal ATX PSUs. I don't know why Dell even bothers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,378 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    ^
    +1

    I'd say scrap the pre-built Dell and build your own. The possibilities for upgrading are almost endless and are NOT limited to the case design, which is why I hate pre-built machines so much. Try to salvage any parts you think you might need sometime down the road(although I doubt it) and try to sell off whatever parts you don't need anymore(easier said that done).

    edit: Also, the rest of the parts won't break your wallet since you already mentioned that you got a new CPU and RAM.
     
  5. CrazyApple New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well here are the before and after specs:

    What i had before:

    Intel Core2Duo 1.8Ghz
    Ati radeon x1330/1500 series
    2gb ram
    305stock PSU

    What i have now:

    Intel core2quad 2.4 ghz (q6600)
    NVidia Geforce 9500gt 1gb
    4gb ram (i think 800mhz)
    305w stock.

    I'm planning to upgrade my GPU for a GTX 560 or a HD 6870 i'm not sure yet. If you guys can suggest me anything better, tell me please.

    Thanks, Apple.

    EDIT: I upgraded almost everything (except for my psu) but my video card is getting bad again for the newer technology so i need a new one (2nd upgrade).
     
  6. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Atleast a good brand 450-550w. Corsair, Antec, Gigabyte, Thermaltake, Coolermaster etc.

    What is the size of your monitor? We can tell what gpu you need, and what games do you play?
     
  7. CrazyApple New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for your reply.

    My Monitor is a MEDION 1280x1024 flat pro. (it's old about 10 years old now.) I recently bought Call of Duty black ops, i also have The Witcher 2 & Duke Nukem: Forever. These games are the most disturbing ones, i get around 40 fps on medium settings on my rig (1024 x 768 res).

    I'm looking forward to get atleast 60 or more fps on 1280x1024 with no AA or any kind of extra graphics.

    On CoD Black Ops, i downloaded so modified settings for my graphics which gets me a bit of FPS but i still get under 50 if i look into the bushes or smoke.
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Pick up the new psu before choosing a video card. If you don't plan on switching your display, a 5770 or GTS450 would serve well. If you need cheap, a secondhand GTS250 or GTX260.

    If you don't mind a "second tier" power supply:
    FSP Group SAGA+ 500R 500W ATX2.2 Power Supply
    TOPOWER Nano Series TOP-500PM 500W ATX12V v2.3 Pow...
    Antec Basiq BP350 350W ATX12V v2.01 Power Supp...(Don't overclock on this power supply)
    Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2...
    ePOWER TVPS550 550W ATX12V Power Supply
    TOPOWER Galaxis MX Series GAPS-600MX 600W ATX12V v...

    OoS but if you can find one
    CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certi...

    2nd hand video card links:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149442
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149123
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
    CrazyApple says thanks.
  9. CrazyApple New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply, but i will buy a GTX 460 video card. I know i'm going to run in a bottleneck, but it doesn't hurt my computer, so the memory that is not in-use on my gtx460 will be used when i upgrade my CPU ;) .

    And if i'm going to get the GTX460 i think the 550w wont be enough for the future. So i'm gonna go with the 600W. OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular High Performance P...

    Thanks for the replies, Apple.
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  11. CrazyApple New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page