1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Starts Shipping PCs with 1TB Hitachi Hard Drives

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 14, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Dell this week announced that it will be the first manufacturer in the industry to start shipping computers with the first consumer 1 terabyte (TB) hard drive. Using the Deskstar 7K1000 drive from Hitachi, Dell will begin including the new drives in both its own line of XPS gaming systems and under the Alienware brand. Alienware Aurora and Area 51 systems will be receiving the new 1TB drives first. According to official Hitachi specifications, the new drive is a Serial ATA 3Gbps model with a 7200 RPM spindle rate and 32MB data buffer. Read time comes in at 8.5ms and write times at 9.2ms. Along with the new 1TB drive, Dell is launching a service called StudioDell, which the company calls a "video time capsule". StudioDell will allow subscribers to upload videos, which will be stored at Dell headquarters for 50 years, so that later generations may view them. Dell even indicated that the videos will be stored on the new 1TB drives from Hitachi.

    Source: DailyTech
     
  2. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    i'm waiting for the seagate 1tb drive

    never had much luck with hitachi's desktop models
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    1TB ::Drool:: Id love to get 1TB in my current PC. In fact, with Seagate OEM SATA Drives (500GB) going for under 150 bucks at the egg. I may just in fact get that. Good thing I have plenty of SATA cables. :)
     
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    32mb of cache...nice!
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    No mention of NCQ? Tho I'd assume the drives have it as standard. Cant see much point in having that much space tho, I store all sorts of random junk on my 250GB drive and I still cant fill the thing up.
     
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i modded my xbox an i put almost 60 games on it, and it's got a 250gb hdd in it, and i still have 100gb left, I also have tons of movies on it! 1tb would be nice if you have lots of movies, or if your going to use it for a dvr, along with other things
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,073 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Forgot to add

    just think....thats 1024 gb of fun!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. demonbrawn

    demonbrawn New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kentucky
    What's NCQ?
     
  10. Bastieeeh New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    462 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    NCQ = Native Command Queuing

     
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,380 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    I feel the need.




    For RAID type speed.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    500GB Hdds these days arent very expensive after all... 1TB probably a bit but...
     
  13. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    the 1tb is around 400bucks...not bad compared to the 750gb price.
     
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but it's still cheaper to go for 2 500GB models, they'd be faster than the 1TB if put them in a RAID0, too.
     
  15. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    5 platters...
    This thing will be a whiner.
     
  16. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    1TB laptop drive... now you are talking...

    But in a performance desktop? No, it should be 2x500GB RAID. Much better.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page