1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell Vostro 1310 Keyboards Come with Different and Incorrect Keyboard Layout in UK

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 3, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I can't explain how happy I'm at the moment, because something like this is being widely reported. It was only a matter of time before someone compain in public. Too bad that it comes from Dell, not the manufacturer I had the same problem with. It seems that the latest Dell Vostro 1310 laptops come with two different types of keyboard layouts - European and USA (International). The problem comes with the European layout which has a big Enter key and changed "forward slash" key position right next to the "Z" key. Try this in a laptop keyboard and the result is sad, the whole bottom row of keys moves with one ahead. Now the worst part, Dell confirmed that all laptops shipped to UK and most likely the whole Europe come with the misconfigured European layout pictured below (third picture shows how the USA layout looks like). I had nearly the same problem with my brand new Logitech G15 rev. 2 keyboard, and it appears all Logitech keyboards ship to Europe with different layout too, without any sign of information that there're two versions - for Europe and USA. It's a shame that things like this happen these days.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: flickr, NotebookReview
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2008
  2. miksanity

    miksanity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    There's W,A,S,D, CTRL, spacebar and Q....whats the big deal ?!:laugh:
     
  3. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    This is seriously embarassing egg on face. It's like building a car with the accelerator, brake and clutch the wrong way round. How can a company make such a design flaw? Time for some engineers to fall on swords.
     
  4. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    haha this was posted in the crazy picture thread
     
  5. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Lol typical the us gets the correct layout ones
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    whats wrong is that the keys are in the wrong locations, meaning that touch typers are going to be very sad people.
     
  7. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    if you go and buy a dell, you get exactly what you deserve.
    :wtf: asif dell customers can type properly anyway?
    but as its mentioned about the g15's having the same problem well thats just plain funny :laugh::laugh: :laugh: :roll:
     
  8. Drash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Please clarify - which is "wrong" - SHIFT \ Z or [ ] \ - the article is very confused.


    All my desktops and Precision M6300 are SHIFT \ Z which seems right, although the SHIFT is small so Z is between A and S not between S and D - is that the problem?
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    on normal keyboards the keys start shift-z and end /-shift.

    Whats wrong with that layout, is that touch typers are boned. UK keyboards have a different layout to US/aus keyboards, but it seems they're cross-shipping and people are getting the wroung countries models... and the moved Z key is new for either one anyway.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2008
  10. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    X should be under S, here it's under D. I use X for sprint and C for crouch, I'd go bananas with this! :banghead:
     
  11. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Dang that sounds crazy man better u than me.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,030 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Wait, I don't get it. That is the standard European English QWERTY keyboard layout. Why the big fuss, that is how it is supposed to be. It isn't hard to figure out which keyboard you will get, look at where you are shipping it to, look at the standard keyboard for that area, BAM! that is the keyboard you are getting.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    umm... the Z key. its nowhere near where it should be. The whole bottom row is in the wrong place.
     
  14. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Yes a touch typers nightmare indeed
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,030 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Oh I see. Instead of making the shift key smaller, they just put it where the Z key should be. My mistake.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    thats the one. why the hell would they do that...
     
  17. cla-enjoiz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    did you find any solution?

    I have the same problem

    I have attached 3 pictures :
    http://imageshack.us/a/img708/833/quv1.jpg

    doesn't work all the keys in bottom row are shift in 1 position on right

    I have bought the an other same code "T456C" and it didn'tt work.

    http://imageshack.us/a/img36/281/n3rs.jpg

    I bought an othe keyboard uk but UK Qwerty code :"Y876J" and 2 keys are not working .

    http://imageshack.us/a/img689/7758/wgw7.jpg

    model of my motherboard d815k this is the new is working .

    Do you think the layout US will work ??? code "0J483C"

    anyone let me know please I don't want fix with software but only buying with right part.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page