1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Desktop Shutdown and Standby/Hibernate Icons

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Bald Eagle, May 9, 2013.

  1. Bald Eagle

    Bald Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    74 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    London - UK
    I discovered some time ago a simple means of adding two desktop icons to cover Shutdown and Standby/Hibernate. I now use these icons all the time as it avoids using the Start procedure, which I never use at all unless I wish to Restart immediately after shutdown. Even then, I tend to use my desktop icons. Just close the browser, click the desktop icon and it is done.

    On your desktop, right click the free space, then click new shortcut, you get a Wizard, copy/paste the command for the location type from one of the below commands (in this case, %windir%\System32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState ). Then click Next. You are asked to give it a title - Standby, Hibernate or Shutdown, I suggest using "Standby/Hibernate", click Finish.

    Shutdown: %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -s
    Reboot: %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -r
    Logoff: %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -l
    Standby: %windir%\System32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState
    Hibernate: %windir%\System32\rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState Hibernate
    I have listed Hibernate for reference only, as the Hibernate desktop icon does not work for systems reasons, Hibernate can only be achieved by manually using the Power Options properties panel.

    Use CNTRL+C to copy and CNTRL+V to paste.

    Hibernate is automatic if the Hibernate box is checked in the Power Options properties panel. If the box is not checked, then Standby is automatic. You have to select this box to give you the option you want.

    Standby is more convenient if you are using the PC constantly, it is a quicker recovery, but has a power trickle. For long periods of absence, use Hibernate, it is much slower in recovering, but effectively shuts your computer down.

    The Power options panel is found by Control Panel>Power Options>Hibernate.

    The two desktop icons created can be changed by Right clicking the icon then Properties>Change icon>Browse>Windows 32>shell32dll>select icon>OK>Apply>OK
    You now have two brand new icons on your desktop for Shutdown and Standby/Hibernate. It works a treat.

    My icons are :-

    [​IMG]
     
    Sasqui, ste2425 and newtekie1 say thanks.
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Is it not the same effort to click or use Windows key> shutdown or restart as it is to minimise window and double click an desktop icon?

    Alternatively if you're bothered about the 2 clicks to shut down you could always use the power button on your case to shut down which is even more efficient

    Or you could just use a keyboard combination for each operation http://www.pcworld.com/article/166587/keyboard_shortcuts.html
     
  3. Bald Eagle

    Bald Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    74 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    London - UK
    Thanks for the input, but it is not a matter of clicks or being bothered about anything or using whatever you like. I have posted this option for consideration by any user who may be interested.

    I know all the alternatives like the back of my hand, but personally favour the desktop icons as more attractive, convenient and certainly much quicker. They are MY best choice. If others beg to differ, then be my guest, it is a free world. It is an interest post NOT an argumentative topic. If you do not like it, then pass on bye.

    By the way who clicks these icons TWICE ? I certainly do not, I never click anything twice, since I have configured my Windows XP to use only ONE click for any icon I have and I have lots of them.

    Finally, whoever uses the Power button to shutdown ? Crashing the Power button does not shut down Windows and all the programs properly and is a ham-fisted and reckless suggestion. This is elementary to PC operations and is only done in emergency. You should know this.

    PLEASE ! I am not prepared to argue about this proposal, if you think it is rubbish, then just move on and ignore it. The OP is intended to be informative NOT argumentative.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2013
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Why so defensive lol you have just conformed this is YOUR personal way of doing things and is no easier/quicker or convenient than the alternatives and yes anyone can configure icons to open with one click, contrary to your defensive reply, I just choose not too because I have a certain way that I like to do things and have been doing for quite some time, much like yourself, I just don't understand the relevance is all....

    If your power options are configured correctly then yes pressing power on your case will safely shut down Windows just the same as using a "desktop icon" or the start menu... glad I taught you something though.
     
    MT Alex and FreedomEclipse say thanks.
  5. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,923 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    yeah there is nothing wrong with hitting the power button on your case, it's holding it to force a power off that is bad.

    I can't stand single clicking. I'm not sure why but I'm just used to double clicking and hate it when I use someone's computer that has it configured for single.

    that being said - still a good share, I rarely ever actually shut down but I use nircmd to create a monitor off shortcut. it puts just the monitor to sleep, but allows mouse to turn it on and allows background activity such as file sharing. this basically bypasses your display sleep settings.
     
  6. Bald Eagle

    Bald Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    74 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    London - UK
    Thank you again. Yes, I have a personal way just as you do and we may not be fans of each others literary expressions and composition, but is that not life ?

    If my OP has helped just ONE person to add a little extra to their PC gymnastics, then it will have made my day. Now please, continue to do things your way and allow others the freedom to do it theirs. Hit the Power button as much as you wish and I will continue to shut down my computer in the proper manner.

    For Heavens sake ! I am amazed at the intolerant replies I have had so far, for simply putting forward a unique and attractive proposal.
     
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I'm glad you feel all the better for sharing it with other's and I didn't mean to come across as a douche by replying to you and stating that it really doesn't matter either which way you do things as it's 6 of one and half a dozen of another if you ask me. Though it was you who asked me to jog on for voicing an opinion, whilst in the next breathe asking me to let you voice your's :wtf:

    I guess the time, if any, it would save me over a lifetime has been spent many times over reading and replying to your thread already. But I agree if you have saved even one childs life with this post then it will have been worth it, oh.... wait..... awkward :ohwell:
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    shutting down in the proper manner??

    How is setting up and configuring a shortcut on your desktop any different then configuring the power button on your PC/laptop to shut the system down? both of them work the same way except one is based on a low level coding and wrangling to make it work while the other is hardware and is pretty straight forward to setup.

    the 'proper manner' of shutting down is through the start menu.
     
    qubit and MT Alex say thanks.
  9. Bald Eagle

    Bald Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    74 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    London - UK
    Since my desire to help others appears to have attracted nothing but astonishingly unjust criticism, except for a THANKS I have received from at least one interested poster, I am unsubscribing from my own thread.

    I hope that my OP catches the eye of more enthusiastic readers who may recognise the benefits of my intentionally helpful OP.

    Oh, just to enlighten the Power button hitting brigade - Whilst tickling the Power button does shut Windows down correctly - IT DOES NOT PUT WINDOWS INTO STANDBY OR HIBERNATE, which is what my thread is mainly about. Who in their right mind would shut down Windows by using the Power button ? It is akin to stopping a car by crashing the gear box.
     
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You created a seperate icon for sleep/hibernate, saying that hitting the power button doesn't do either of these things is like me saying your power off shortcut doesn't either duh ...

    And guess what, using the power button is the same as using start menu or a shortcut, in essence it's nothing like "crashing the gearbox" as you so elequently put it, it has the exact same function.

    I don't think you can really complain at the kind of responses you are getting when you look at your first posts and the way you spoke to a lot of people who had been posting here for a long time when you first registered, hopefully that was not the real you and we can continue seeing a lot more constructive threads like this one from here on in, though who can blame people, you can only make one first impression.
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    You know, they are great buttons if you remote into your computer, since the power functions are disabled.

    Another interesting one is:

    Code:
    rundll32.exe user32.dll, LockWorkStation
    This will lock the workstation. I use it a lot when I have a program I want to run that only runs when a user log on. I just drop a shortcut with that in the startup folder and set the computer to automatically log on. Then it will instantly lock and the computer will still be secure from people that don't know that password.
     
    Bald Eagle says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Found this quite useful. Don't know if your on windows 8 but it looks the same as what I did to mine. Used it to add icons in the start metro rubbish. Until I got rid of it completely and installed start is back.

    On the shutdown thing the power button can be configured to hibernate, sleep or shut down your system. And it does it exactly the same as using the start menu button. If You have unsaved documents it halts the shut down until I've saved it closed them exactly the same with the power button as within the start menu. As mentioned if you hold the power button for a couple of seconds then it will force shutdown your system and will just pull the plug regardless of what the system is doing and this can be dangerous.
     
    Bald Eagle says thanks.
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I use the power button a lot, it's at arms length. Cases of old and MB's had sleep buttons but that's all but gone these days. I'd like a sleep button on my PC... otherwise, they're mostly set to sleep after 30-45 min to save power.
     
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,224 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,707
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    You should never turn off your pc.. Those ice caps aren't going to melt by them self.. :p

    EDIT: I leave mine on for Crunching.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,923 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    @Bald
    I just want to clarify. no one here is picking you out or intentionally disagreeing. this is a technical site, so not only do we share our methods but by sharing them we open them to criticism. anything I say is just as open as anything you say. that's a good thing, that's how we all learn.

    The point is, we question things because we want to understand and make sure things are understood. it's rarely to call someone out or be an ass.

    power functions are hidden away, but you should be able to "alt+ctrl+end" and select any option from the bottom right, no?
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2013
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    You are correct, but alt+ctrl+end is kind of difficult to do on my phone.:D
     
    digibucc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page