1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR Expert

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Nov 24, 2005.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,793 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,496
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2006
  2. Tijgert Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Good review!

    I decided to buy this board after it became clear that the A8N32 would take too long to wait for.

    What I am wondering about this board, still, is if DFI could in some way upgrade that audio riser card to something better. I mean, it's all on this card right? Chip, connectors, the works. Why not make a new card with f.i. a Live! on it?

    Also reading the special DFI forums I see a LOT of people with problems... but that could be due to the popularity of the board. Many complain about certain memory types not working or not working in either color slot or only a strip at a time. This worries me.

    I'm sure that all will be fine...
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,793 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,496
    the problem with the audio quality lies in the nforce4 afaik. the only way to improve sound would be to build a "sound card" onboard, without using nf4 .. you dont want to pay $230 for that board, do you? ;)

    you always have to realize that people who buy this board are "experts", not the general average user, so they expect a lot from the boards.

    I can confirm an issue with yellow vs. orange on my ocz gold gx, but hey, how hard is it to try both?
  4. Tijgert Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Well.. actually, this board is costing me right now here in Holland a little under 209 euro's.
    Given the exchange rate that'd make around... hehe, 230 buckaroos!! So yes, I'd pay that if needed and it's needed (since my MSI 7125 fried and I need to get something better at least).

    Experts would most likely also appreciate some decent sound, I would, so I'll have to figure out something else I guess (even though AC97 doesn't seem all that bad sometimes).

    As far as the Yellow V. Orange... great, just what I wanted to hear :wtf:
    Once I get it I'll run it with 2x1GB OCZ Platinum PC4000 DC... if I get a proper chance... sounds like it might go flying out the window instead.
    All these bioses with specific memory chip versions don't make it any easier either (especially since my mem sticks aren't mentioned anywhere so I have no clue what chips are on there).

    b.t.w. This 704-2BTA bios, is that really for Expert boards as well? On DFI-streets there is a big topic, but no info whatsoever on what board it is for.

    Edit: I found a way the board could be improved... a little push switch (just like the other two) for clearing the Cmos instead of a jumper. I must've reset my MSI's bios a hundred times this way... very convenient when experimenting...
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2005
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,793 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,496
    i never needed cmos reset on the dfi .. if you have fubared settings just hold the insert key and it boots without overclock settings .. there is also the "disable oc" jumper
  6. Tijgert Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ah... that insert key will come in handy since I plan to OC the hell out of my 2GB OCZ PC4000.

    Just hope it works with that mem, I heaf DFI isn't that tolerant.

    (also keeping an eye on AtiTool... my new X1800XT will need a master to command it :) )
  7. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    where is the clock gen on this thing lol i can't seem to locate it.. my guess is that it's inside the nforce chipset cause it has a quartz right next to it is this correct? :)
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,793 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,496
    yup .. nforce4 has the clockgen integrated in the chipset
  9. SPHERE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    822 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    arizona (cave creek)
    oh cool thanks w1zz :)
  10. Apea New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you have any problems running Sandra Burn-In Wizard on the DFI Expert? I can't run the Burn-In Wizard, within about 15 seconds of it starting the machine totally shuts off. Tech support over at Sisoftware is trying to help, but this has been going on for about 3 weeks now...

    All other benchmarks run flawlessly, just not the Burn-In Wizard (or the Motherboard Info tool).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page