1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DFI LANPARTY UT P55 Motherboard Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Apr 24, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Surprisingly, VR-Zone today posted pictures of the LANPARTY UT P55 board, a twin of the recently spotted DFI LANParty Dark P55 T3eH6, that packs several interesting features. Quick introduction, the board uses Intel's P55 chipset for the upcoming LGA-1156 socket processors. The board has a total of four DDR3 DIMM slots, three PCI-E x16 slots, digital power circuit and DFI's usual color theme. Also note, that there's a slot on the motherboard for NAND flash installation. Additionally, a mini USB port is located on the I/O backpanel. For now the presence of this NAND flash slot remains mystery. DFI will showcase the motherboard at Computex Taipei 2009 where we hope they will say what is it for.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2009
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,337 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Looks like a nice board, but no VRM cooling?
     
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Isn't the NAND flash for that intel memory boost thingy.

    Also 3 PCI-E ports on something that looks almost budget ?
     
  4. jagass New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    It looks good for me..Sweet board...lol
     
  5. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    there is no cooling on any of the pics, it will come later
     
  6. OBR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Czechia
    That flash slot is for GFX memory in Clarksdale processors ...
     
    CyberDruid says thanks.
  7. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    No NB in LGA 1156 only SB?
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, the northbridge is on the processor (and is complete with memory controller, PCI-E root complex, and a QPI link to the CPU core).
     
  9. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    that means we need a superb cooler!
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, and water-cooling the chipset (southbridge) would be purely cosmetic.
     
  11. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    vista speed booster?
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I was probably gonna get a DFI when I got my i5 folding rig but the PCIE placement sucks. If I'm gonna have two cards crunching 24/7 they're gonna need some space.
     
  13. xenos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Is it me or does it look like a mobile PCI-X slot? Like you would put a wifi card in a laptop or a SSD in the case of an EEE PC?

    Starting to get ideas :)
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    OOh Ahhh .... Can't wait!!! So when's the release of the LGA1156 cpus? :D
     
  15. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    0_o its nakie :roll:

    I've been feeling a intel sli build just dont know if I wanna spend the dolla's
     
  16. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    You will need to find boards with 2 pci-e only if you want more spaces between them. This board has 3 pci-e...
     
  17. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Urge to try out a dfi board rising.
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Don't let that urge build too badly. I will stand by their boards ALOT. Not a fanboy, just very loyal.
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm an Intel DFI fanboy, don't like their AMD bios that much, but their Intel stuff.. Man, they sure know how to make a board :laugh:
     
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    DFI , time to overclock
     
  21. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    There is VRM cooling, it is just not on there yet since they removed it. Look closely at the pics and you can see that they are shiny :D Also, the removed the heat sinks because of the fact it removes some appeal and wants more people to see what it looks like full dressed!
     
  22. azzonie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Why does it have 4 mem slots when it uses DDR3? I thought the point of DDR3 was triple channel operation and most boards would have either 3 or 6 slots to make that happen. I know someone here can school me.
     
  23. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    tripple channel doesn't exist in P55 mobos
    it only comes with the current i7s:)
    Intel went back to dual channel on this one.
     
  24. azzonie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Then why would they not use DDR2 in this MB? I suppose maybe because of the FSB speed but seriously if I was making a new purchase and intended on using DDR3 it makes no sense to then buy a MD that does not fully support all the features DDR3 has to offer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page