1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DFI LANPARTY UT X58 Motherboard Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    One of our readers sent us the link to a TweakTown story that gives an exclusive look at DFI's latest LANPARTY UT X58 motherboard. I won't bother you with the Intel X58 specs you probably already know by heart. Pictures speak enough for themselves:

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    This is a working sample. Although there's no adequate cooling on the northbridge and the southbridge there'll be one in the retail version and it'll probably be supplied by Thermalright. DFI plans to charge over $300 for this motherboard.

    Source: TweakTown
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    300 us?

    is that the x58 norm?
  3. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    i like the colours it have! black, green and yellow mix's really good.
  4. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    probaly remember lga1366 is highend not mainstream
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Moar x48 revisions pl0x? I want a better mobo for xfire and my E8600 :( I wonder how many people will be going NH.
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,967 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    I love the layout and color scheme DFI uses on their LP boards :D
  7. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    no thank you dfi. i dont like the fact you lock your bios from users if you oc to high
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I don't mean to be rude or nothing but why bother posting news when it's on the homepage?
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,967 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    they do? I've never heard of that happening before, and a few of my friends have had nothing but dfi boards.
  10. blobster21

    blobster21

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    301 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Vandoeuvre - France
    never heard of that locks, although i have a lanparty X48-T3RS ?

    are u talking about fsb or voltage limitation of some sort ?
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    idk what it is. but my board locked me out of the bios giving me a .8.8 and or a 26 error. i sent it to DFI and they said if they voltage or clock is to high and unstable it will lock you out of the bios and you have to send it in and have them reset it.

    now i get [​IMG]

    but we will save that for another thread
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    721 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    It looks like a great board. I especially like the part of the article where they mention that the have no intention of limiting the MEM voltage. I also like when they said their boards don’t come with a lot of unnecessary additives, So I guess that means DFI boards should be cheaper,…right ;)

    Why only six expansion slots though? I guess seven would be an unnecessary addition :)

    That rear I/O panel looks like its missing something. Maybe some sort of expansion board or perhaps the boards cooling solution will expand to the rear panel,…?
  13. to6ko91

    to6ko91

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    335 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have a question is that on the 4th picture an exchangeable bios module
    [​IMG]
    Because if it is that's some old school classic, that has been forgotten [​IMG]
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    That would be bad ass if that were the case.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    They are one and the same.
  16. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    just my thoughts
  17. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Thats bull.
  18. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    This isn't something DFI is doing to be jerks, it's just something that happens. If you OC enough you can corrupt your BIOS, they're doing you a favor by fixing it for free if you send it in. (at least I'm pretty sure this is the situation, it is on AMD boards anyway)
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Mighty big NB core, bigger than 65nm Core2 cores (and most likely hotter).
  20. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,202 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    it definitely is... I learned my lesson with the first core 2 boards and that is: being an early chipset adopter is a PAIN IN THE A$$... (just ask the 780i peeps) Youre basically a glorified lab hamster. I dunno about DFI but most of the time the stock cooling is NEVER adequate overclocking these chipsets...

    "Cooling brought to you by... the X-Box 360 thermal team.. whoo."
  21. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905

    So you agree?

    Yes, i honestly think it is something they are doing to jerk us around, Asus, biostar and gigabyte never have given me this issue.

    Honestly, my experience with them so far is such

    Cosmetically they have beautiful boards

    Oc is a pain but good once its figured out.

    Stick with asus :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    any picture from above closer
  23. v-zero Guest

    I wish motherboard makers would stop putting legacy connections like PS/2 and Printer Ports on modern motherboards...
  24. Ferdinand New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Are DFI will attach Thermalright Heatpipe cooling on the board?
  25. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    According to malware it's likely

    If you look at the big gap on the i/o panel I would say the same system that the other LP UT boards has is going to be on this one.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page