1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DFI Releases List of New Phenom II Ready Motherboards

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD declared new CPU information in mid November 2008; in consumer market, the AM2 based 45nm CPU which named “PhenomTM II” will be ready in January 2009; then, the new CPU which supports DDR3 will be released in February. In order to catch up the upcoming CPU, DFI LANParty already finished the compatibility test of the existed motherboards. Customers who bought DFI LANParty AMD 790FX/ 790GX motherboards can update the latest BIOS from website for supporting AMD 45nm Phenom II.

    The DFI LANParty Phenom II ready motherboards are listed below:
    • UT 790FX-M2R
    • DK 790FX-M2RS
    • DK 790FXB-M2RS
    • DK 790FXB-M2RSH
    • DK 790GX-M2RS
    • JR 790GX-M2RS
    Source: DFI
  2. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Damn, i was waiting for this list. DFI freaking rocks! :rockout: They offer Phenom 2 support on all their boards. I'm happy with my current DFI X48 and if i'll be going to Phenom i'll prolly stick with DFI.
  3. teamtd11 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    no support for my board :(
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    they aint gonna support nforce590, i learned that the hard way with my gigabyte. AMD scrwed all AM2 board owners by not giving Deneb support.
  5. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    MSI K9A2 Platinum better support Phenom II or I'm gonna go call Robin and show MSI whats up.
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  6. teamtd11 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I love my DFI board, but i hate nvidia chipsets, ive had nothing but trouble since my nforce4. yet i still got this board despite that :p Though when you have the chance to get a new DFI lanparty for £60 when they are retailing for closer to £200 its not something you can turn down easly lol
  7. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    The 770 and 790X chipset will most likely not support it for its SB 600 southbridge combination. however the 790FX chipset will support it, even with the SB600.
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,915 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I think this issue cannot be fully blamed on AMD, the board partners didn't prepare the boards to take the wattage requirement of Quads. They just limited the build to low end ones. Thats the reason why most of the boards does not support AM2+ or AM3.

    I might be wrong too.

    :toast:
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,915 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm, I have been buying NV chipset (from NForce2 to 8200 now) boards just for the fact that they are the most stable chipset and reliable RAID too, what kind of problems you got?
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yes, thats also true. but we were talking about AM2 boards working with AM3 CPUs. AMD did promise it and let us down. Mobo makers may have something to do with it also but they should've got together and fixed this. This is not a good time for AMD to give away promises and not fulfill them, makes em look bad and they may lose end users to Intel
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    nice to see their boards ar emore complete. the 790x board by gigabyte will support Deneb. I just wish Asus would list the M3a32MVP deluxe Wi Fi AP.
  12. teamtd11 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I mostly got problems with drivers, on a fresh os install. when i installed the nvidia drivers (making sure only to install smbus drivers and no nvidia firewall stuff aswell) i always ended up with bluescreen. and i have had the happen on all my nforce boards i have (2X nforce4ultra , 1 nforce5 and this nf590sli) My next motherboard will be amd for sure :p to go with a nice phenom II
  13. Razr7 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wow... really?... man, your such a wise guy... or is that one word?


    Now... you now how silly you sound?
    Boards can only be:
    a) AMD, as in using AMD branded chipsets
    b) AM2, as in using AM2 socket
    They can't be both AMD and nVidia, but nice try!


    Read this: http://www.asus.com/news_show.aspx?id=13405
    Do you see that the list doesn't contain the M3A78 Pro?... a 780G SB700 125W capable board... at that time it didn't according to Asus.
    The only problem in supporting AM3 lies with each board manufacturer and the corresponding BIOS companies... not with AMD.
    Do you also see nVidia being mentioned in the chipset list? Yeah, I bet you do!


    And I don't disagree... but I doubt nVidia gives a rats about the promises AMD makes.
    In that sens, you need a personal interpreter cause your logic is a bit faulty... AMD made a statement for their own chipsets not those of other companies!

    Asus didn't let me down... and my M3A78 Pro will be using a 95W Deneb when the time's right!

    Also I think you're overreacting a bit... the CPU's haven't even arrived on the market and you already want something you can't use right now.

    Giving them a bit of time for testing and BIOS programming will probably solve most compatibility issues and ppl can upgrade!

    So stop acting like the anti-AMD-pro-TWIMTBP(l)ayed kid and get a grip!
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    you are just twisting my words around. I'm not talking about chipset specific boards, i'm talking about all AMD AM2 socket mobos, not nvidia's or ATI's but all of them, i distinctly remember them saying that with a BIOS update AM2 board will work with Am2+ and AM3 CPUs. AMD should've insisted that board vendors provide such updates but it seems to me that the promise was forgotten and AMD didnt put much pressure on the mobo manufacturers to do something about this. Board vendors also are to blame, not nvidia as you say. The dont make boards, in fact they dont make anything since they have no fabs. They, however, could've contributed to the process but their role in this is minor.

    And you are wrong about me being anti-AMD, i'm one of the enthusiastic supporters of AMD in this forum. I went with a AM2 socket system in spring of 07 when everyone was buying Intel. But it doesn't mean they dont deserve critisism, they made many blunders, this one of them, so when they do something wrong i'll be one of the first to point that out. Their bullshit needs to be called on and their mistakes need to be pointed out so hopefully they can be avoided in the future.
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2008
  15. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    yea I'm finding this very odd, that only am2+ boards are getting these updated, all boards need this type of update both AM2/AM2+

    heck to be honest there are some issues with am2+ procs not being able to work on am2 boards. well just gotta cross your fingers and hope your board ends up in that list.
  16. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    Actually upon further investigation. only support 45nm Phenom II socket AM2, this does not cover AM3 processors. DFI won't give any info on it so for now, if you got a DFI board and its on that list you can only hope for deneb.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page