1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Diamond Launches Overclocked 1GB HD 3870

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Diamond Multimedia introduced today the 1 gigabyte, overclocked version of the ATI Radeon HD 3870 graphics card. This card offers maximum speed and power at an incredible value. Utilizing 55nm technology, this card runs cool and quiet.

    The HD 3870 is a dual slot card, PCIE 2.0, with 1024MB of DDR3 memory and an overclocked speed of 825 MHz. The memory speed is 900 MHz. As with the original HD 3870, the 1 gigabyte version is designed with 320 stream processors and plug-and-play ATI CrossFireX upgradeability with up to quad-GPU support.

    The Radeon HD 3870 will blow users away with life-like graphics from the latest Microsoft DirectX 10.1 games and stunning 3D graphics and shading effects. Experience the best of Windows Vista and bump up the performance of the Windows Aero graphical interface.

    Uncompromising HD video is delivered via ATI Avivo display technology. The latest Blu-ray and HD DVD movies play smoothly at full 1080p with a dedicated hardware video decoder that leaves the CPU unbound to do other tasks. Enjoy digital content with HDMI and built in 5.1 surround sound.

    All Diamond video cards carry the Diamond guarantee of quality assurance. Unlike many cards that are simply first to market, Diamond carefully tests and retests every new model for its ratio of performance to reliability. Diamond is legendary in the PC video card business for its less than 1 percent return rate versus an industry average of approximately 10 percent. Diamond cards use superior connectors, cables and components, as well as undergo more thorough testing for heat susceptibility and durability.

    Source: Diamond
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2008
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    I would rather have the 512MB of faster RAM. On and the title says 3970, it should be 3870, right?
     
    Jimmy 2004 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    I don't understand why it isn't called a HD3850 1gb? It's GDDR3 after all.
     
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    My own personal swing on things ;)

    Just a typo by me, title said 3970 but article said 3870.
     
  5. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ummm my hd3850agp is clocked higher then that...
     
  6. cool_recep

    cool_recep

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    344 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Damn! I was surprised for a while when i saw the title 3970 but then....:cry:
     
  7. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Well, I thought a 3870 was the RV670 plus GDDR4...
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    Appearently not as the HD3870x2 uses GDDR3 also. I think at this point, the only thing that matters is the core clock speed. If it is 775MHz or higher by default it is a 3870, if it is lower it is a 3850. ATi's naming scheme has become extremely confusing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    there are a handful of 3870 that use gddr3 but not many....
    these clocks are not very high to be called an oc version but i guess its not bad for gddr3
    i wanna see how it performs against a 3870 with high clocked gddr4
     
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    WHooooo! i bet this runs sexy with tri-Fire
     
  11. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Gigabytes 3870 uses GDDR3. Not too terribly much of a difference between that and gddr4 but enough for average joe to notice.
     
  13. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    yea that gigabyte would look nice with my new board....i was going to buy it but the gddr3 is making me a little worried about ocing
     
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
  15. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    i agree! but none yet...it looks like this is the only review i can find, but ill keep looking :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page