1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Diamond to Launch VFX 2000 Card With 2GB of VRAM

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Diamond is known in the video card making world as the guy who puts a lot of memory into their products. Diamond is continuing that legacy by developing the VFX 2000 card, which is the workstation version of the HD 2900XT. What makes this card so special is the raw amount of DDR4 onboard: 2GB. There is no word as to how much this card will cost, how fast the RAM and GPU run at, but we do know that we will find out within the next couple of weeks.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: EnGadget
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That is badass.
  3. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    And a bit overkill too... why do we need so much ram on the graphics card... i don't think that we are loading all the game or program textures into the graphics card ram...:rolleyes:
  4. insider Guest

    It's a workstation card not aimed at the for gaming market, the large ram amount can be justified for certain design applications.
  5. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    it's not so much for gamers as for professionals who use workstations
  6. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    But that graphics card can also be used in gaming but her performance is totally different from a gaming card because it's optimized for workstation programs...:)
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    If i was at Diamond....i'd fit another heatpipe onto the cooler to justify its price.
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Mmmm.... 2GB

    :drool:
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thats awesome! I know its basically for workstations, but would this offer any performance increase for the super rich ass gamer (which I am not one of :( ) over the standard 1GB HD X2900XT ?
  10. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    It'd help if you were gaming at über resolutions such as 2560 x 2048 (QSXGA) with high quality textures I'd have thought. I'd love to have a Barcelona based set up with a pair of these in Crossfire - that'd be one smooth ass set up.

    For the poor pockets, we can only dream.
  11. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Cool, thanks for the info :)

    Yep, I know the feeling :cry:
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Who cares if its overkill. Its 2gb of GDDR4 RAM! OMG its gonna be more expensive than the 8800 ULTRA GTX FROM HELL!. Wonder if it will outperform it.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    think of Xfire on them :D:D:D:D i want a set bad
  14. Schmuv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    workstation cards calculate much more precisely than regular gaming cards, because if you wanna build an exact model of a car, a house etc you need all calculations to be 100% accurate down to the very last number behind the comma. but if you're a gamer, you wont even realise the difference. So the VFX 2000 wont outrun the 8800 gtx when it comes to gaming...2GB ram is nice though :D
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    you may be able to mod the BIOS so that it is more similar to the reg cards though :D
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    The only way I see it being useful for gaming is is if you had like a 70" HDTV
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. o_k_13 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    omg, i dont have 2 gigs on my whole system !
  18. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    145 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    You guys do realise that these cards will retail at around £1500 each.

    They are exactly the same as a X2900XT but with 2Gb DDR4 ram but have added full OpenGL optimization for 3D CAD work
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Woot! Another geezer from Worcester! TPU seems to be a haven for them.

    :rockout:
  20. cmberry20

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    145 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Worcester, England
    A lot of smart people come from Worcester!! ;)
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    Psst, i think a guy from worcester doesnt have his system specs added like the forum rules say...


    hah, just being an ass cause i can :p

    As for the people mentioning that workstation cards do more work, therefore they are slower - not true. Many generations of cards have been identical, and for some cards even compatible drivers.

    Hell, there was a quadro driver turned into an 8800 driver by adding the model codes into the .inf file, and it ran the desktop cards fine as a nice stable driver - just like they detect games and load optimisations for that game alone, they do the exact same thing for 'workstation' programs. games are optimised for speed, these programs are optimised for accuracy.
  22. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    AZ
    i dunno about 2gb but I'm now regretting not getting the 1gb version. with the new "edge detect" aa mode you can get to 24x aa on the hd2900's, the problem is that at 1680x1050 run out of texture memory and have to use system memory, this means that my frames stay low even when overclocking. so while on 16x aa I was using 450mb's of texture memory at that resolution, I'm now reporting closer to 600mb's which is well beyond the 512 my card has. The 1gb cards would probably be running much better.

    but hey if I"m at 600mb at 1680x1050 with 24xaa on hl2 episode1, imagine how much would be used on a dx10 game. the 2gb card could just be prep for the future.
  23. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    When buying a card like this, you have to remember... Maya isn't a game :laugh:.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,126 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    what? really? *stops torrenting maya*

    Damnit, i thought it was a game :p

    Yogurt: good info. On my GTX i noticed 16xQ AA was pushing my cards ram usage, i'd get occasional stuttering. Do you know of a way to monitor the cards memory usage in windows so i can check more accurately?
  25. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Sweet!

    Well it was possible before you re-flash a Fire GL to a standard card and use it for gaming....
    So now I'm curious if its possible with this card....

    That would be sweet! Maybe useless but sweet...

    But I mean this coming from a guy who bought a Xeon 3070 instead of a E6700 simply because he wanted it to say Xeon.....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page