1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Did anyone notice the new Speedtest website?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by EastCoasthandle, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Take a look and test your results to see if things have changed.
    Speedtest
    theoneandonlymrk and 95Viper say thanks.
  2. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Looks nice.

    Same result, though.
  3. sniviler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Bong island , NY
    [​IMG]
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Pretty Pretty... But,same results.
    I like the Speed Wave. (looks like some mischief going on there with some of the results:eek:)
    [​IMG]
  5. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    [​IMG]
  6. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    95Viper says thanks.
  7. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    No changes here either:

    [​IMG]
  8. Ra97oR

    Ra97oR

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    377 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    [​IMG]

    Looks rather cool, but somewhat hard to navigate. Maybe just need more time to get used to it.
  9. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  10. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
  11. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    After looking at the results in this thread my result makes me sad :laugh:
    [​IMG]
  12. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    i got fiber installed yesterday. it cut like $80 off my (fucking ridiculous) cable bill.

    [​IMG]
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    It looks really slick. But does it function any better?

    I saw some stupid glitches in the old version, where it might read say, 15Mb through most of the download, then momentarily jump to 25Mb or more right at the end and declare my connection speed as 25Mb. My line speed was only about 20Mb in the first place. :rolleyes:
  14. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Virgin media- fastest fibre here, upgraded from 20 meg on wednesday[​IMG]

    ping is usually lower :S
  15. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    speedtest.net is a flash test which can have problems at times. if it's being weird you should try a java one, they're the most accurate it seems.

    http://myspeed.visualware.com/index.php is reliable in my experience, it's a java test instead of flash.
  16. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    it is MUCH better, it was measuring my 20mb connection as 160mb
  17. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    You people have nice speeds there,but how much do you pay for your IP? I have to pay 47 € for this speed...(mobile connection,so speed varies a lot)[​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  18. lisburnni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    25 quid a month which equates to 40 dollars US on xe.com
  19. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,421 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Same same.

    [​IMG]

    It's included in the rent.

    Distance to server is about 500 miles.
  20. ChewyBrownSuga

    ChewyBrownSuga

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    398 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  21. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,975 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,349
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    its better than the old site,but not perfect! might as well post my speed results too
    [​IMG]

    Estonia is really getting behind other nations when it comes to broadband speeds :(
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,646 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    [​IMG]

    Heh that's work. We recently got upgraded at home though and getting about 30 down up from 8 for the same price. The result shown above is like the norm in places like South Korea and Finland to name a couple. Or in Sweden like our buddy Frick who's wicked fast line is "included in the rent". Sigh. :)
  24. xXxBREAKERxXx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Bulgaria gets like 20-40 Mbit/s for 8-12 euro per month :D
    Germany T-com have Insane price's. Paying like 40 euro for 3mbit/s !!!
  25. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,225
    [​IMG]

    the speakeasy test still gives me the more accurate results. anyway, i am pissed because this line costs me $65.99/month which is fine but the next step up is 50/20 connection and that is $144.95! they do offer 150/35 connection for $199.99/month tho!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page