1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Did i fry my graphics card??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by earithramir, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I got a graphics card that did not fully function (its a x800 aiw wich was flashed with a x800xt pe bios)
    to get the AiW functions working again i tried to flash a AiW bios

    The only thing is i did not flash the right bios i thought it was a 1.6ns samsung graphics card.
    but its a samsung 2.0ns graphics card.

    Now i tried 'requeing' it with a decent x800 aiw samsung 2.0 bios but still there is no picture...
    but the fan is running again!!

    ATiFlash does identify the graphics card with new bios, but system does not boot with this graphics card....

    what i did:
    i flashed the card with serveral different samsung 1.6 bioses, hopefully this did not hurt the card...


    its a ATi noname x800ve AiW PAL/Secam 256MB samsung 2.0ns AGP 256MB

    Tried flashing it with both atiflash and flashrom.
     
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Sounds like you fried it out .
    Did you save your old bios if not you have a paper weight now .
     
  3. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Hmm I had the AIW X800XT, and everything I read about it said DO NOT flash it. You can get lucky and it'll work, but most of the time it creates a lot of instabilities. Hopefully you saved your stock BIOS before you starting messing with it. Either way, you need to find the stock BIOS for your card, and try reflashing it. You've gotten it this far, so just keep going... it's not like it's going to make things any worse.
     
  4. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the problem is i got this card like this :p
    bought it as a x800xt pe...
    the sticker said x800ve aiw
    it was not really stable so i wanted to get a x800ve aiw bios on it :p

    i think i need to go edit a x800 aiw bios edit the speed and change the product id to x800ve aiw...
    maybe it will take it :p
     
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I second that... if you have the first bios then you'd might be saved....
     
  6. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am editing bioses like a mad man :p
    trying to bring it to life :p
    maybe you guys know where to find where to find this bios?
    ATi x800ve AiW samsung 2.0ns AGP 256MB AGP
    for now ill stick with editing.. it must be braught back to life :p
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Sorry it's dead Jim ... :nutkick:
     
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
    earithramir says thanks.
  9. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if braught more cards back to life that looked dead to me :p
    only never one that ive used the wrong bios on before...
    ill keep on trying...

    thats the bios i am editing right now, the card i am using had samsung 2.0ns memory that bios had samsung 1.6ns memory..

    just finished my meal i am going to try my edited bios in a minute...
    keep u guys op to date... and thanks :p


    by the way.. it looks like the card is not really completly dead, because its responding to bios upgrades (the fan)
     
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    all you should have to do is edit the memory timings so there a little looser for the clocks there running and you should be good
     
    earithramir says thanks.
  11. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    can u refrase that for me, my english isnt that good.
    what exactly should i do with the memory timings?
    maybe a example?
     
  12. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks guys.. :p
    after screwing arrowd with rabbit and the aiw bios i finnaly got the card working again!!

    its now running as a ATi x800ve All in Wonder 256MB AGP in windows XP :D

    modified bios:
    downloaded ATi x800 All in Wonder AGP samsung 1.6
    changed timings to 2.0ns
    changed speed from 500/500 to 425/400
    and changed sub id from x800aiw to x800ve aiw
    its working just fine.. its running a bench while we speak!

    it not mend for playing games anymore by the way, just for my media center...
     
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Glad to see it up and running. You can never go wrong with a AIW for a media Center
     
  14. earithramir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah well...

    seems that the asus s-presso was part of the problem..
    i fixed the card using a old (very old) motherboard pentium 3 1.0ghz motherboard
    and after using a couple of home made bioses i got it running again.

    but when i reinstalled it in my asus s-presso again, it still is not running !!!
    it was running before!
    still got no clue whats wrong..
    the s-presso, for those who do not know what im talking about, is a HTPC barebone specially designed for media center use..
    it has a touch screen and display and a IR- remote controll.

    The s-presso is running just fine with a geforce 6 6600gt, but the problem with this card is that the s-presso board isnt designed for not-all in wonder cards, sow i need to power the computer with the button (cant use the remote)

    The fact that i am lasy, when i am in bed, the s-presso is located in my bed-room.

    Next thing i am going to do is trying to find a bios upgrade for my asus s-presso bare-bone motherboard, hopefully asus has created one..
    the next thing, i dont know, the x800 aiw is running just fine! sow no need to screw with the bios again, i think!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page