1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Did I Make The Right Decision?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by MikeTyson, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Hey guys, I just ordered myself a Palit GTX 460 1GB while TPU was down, cos I couldn't get any feedback from the site obviously and the window of time for next day delivery was running out

    I also ordered an OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W, is that gonna be enough? Apparently on all the reviews, it peaks at AT LEAST 700W so I should be okay right? These are the ones I ordered :)

    http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...craft II Trial ?productId=40861&rqcType=c#rqc

    http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials...hXStream 2 600W Power Supply ?productId=40944
     
  2. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    My GTX480 peaked at 600 watts (tested with KillAWatt).

    What kind of review did you read?
     
  3. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Sorry I meant the PSU peaked at 700W in standalone testing, I was just saying it can deliver 700W when needed :)
     
    kid41212003 says thanks.
  4. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    Nice move dude.
    A single GTX 460 will run well in a 550W (or even 500) PSU fine. No need to worry :D
    But if you planed to go up SLI later then :eek: 750 or 800W is recommended
     
  5. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    it should be MORE then enough... the GTX460 dosnt use any where near as much power as the 470 or 480.
     
  6. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I'm deadly sure you will be fine.

    And good move with the GTX460!
     
    Faith[ROG].Anarchy says thanks.
  7. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    yeah good choice, im sure u can go SLI with OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W PSU , have fun
    _____________________________
    [​IMG]
    Antec1200 filter project
     
  8. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    Very cool answer :D Thumbs up ! :banghead:
     
  9. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Very nice. It will be a MAAASSSSSIIIVVVEE improvement from your 7950GT.
     
  10. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    I've also got some mounting clips on the way for a Scythe Mugen that I've had for months and haven't been able to use. Does anybody know where I can get some really cheap AS5 in the UK? Cos I don't have any thermal paste to use with it :(

    And man am I glad I didn't order a 750W PSU... that woulda been overkill

    I almost clicked buy on one of them!
     
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Just to clarify thing's a little...

    I've ran my GTX 460 on an Antec 480w PSU for around a week, in that time I benched, gamed + stress tested without a problem from lack of power.

    Now if you look at my system specs you will see I have what your questioning ;)
     
  12. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Aha thanks :)
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    More than plenty on the PSU!!! Coming from a 7950GT that card will knock your socks off! I request a pic of your face in FPS glory. ;)

    EDIT:

    I know I am a little late :eek:
     
  14. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Well seeing as you're my fellow GTX 460 owner, you can help me overclock it :p
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Lol in past few years with personal use in vid cards, these have got to be the easiest cards to clock. My sample I have no worry about temps and can max core volts without worry. Basically expect 65c load at max core volts and about 860 core. My own personal card is a good sample. Although I can say, keep it at stock you will still enjoy it.
     
  16. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    What do you use to overclock with? And what would you say a safe overclock voltage is :)
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Should answer both questions:
    [​IMG]

    That's my daily clocks with Furmark load.
     
  18. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Ahhh cool, thanks man :)

    Although I'll probably have the fan at 100% constantly because I don't care about noise to be honest... I don't get why everybody makes a big fuss about it, end of the day I want my stuff to be cool, not quiet
     
  19. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    The difference between 70% to 100% is quite a lot in terms of noise... most people find that 70% is enough to keep their cards cool whilst gaming :)
     
  20. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Hmmm I guess we'll see, but I'm a performance fanatic :p Nothing else matters! including NOISE! :D
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Look at my stuff, that's default fan profile at 58% with 66C load. :p
     
  22. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    This thing is like a jet engine at 100%, I've got it set to 70% for idle and 100% for games cos I wear headphones :D

    But yea, loving the card it's pretty cool. However cos I only have Windows XP I haven't tested it in DX10 yet... but it plays Crysis in DX9 on everything high really smooth, same story with Mafia II

    I've overclocked a bit with MSI Afterburner and the Kombuster plugin for it to test stability, haven't really pushed it to the limit yet but I settled for 760MHz Core and like 1900MHz Mem for now ^_^ Loads at around 69C
     
  23. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Most fans can idle at around <35% without reaching 60c and about 40%-60% for 100c. I recommend getting the Accelero L2 pro, makes little to no noise even @ 100% fan.

    BTW how is the performance compared to your old 7950GT & which games have you tested?
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not too sure but I don't think the L2 Pro fits these cards.
     
  25. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Ha it's amazing, my old 7950GT struggled with Crysis on a lower resolution with wayyy lower settings and even then only got like 22fps-ish

    I just like the fact I can play basically anything I want on high with this card (In DX9 anyway)

    Bad Company 2 runs great on all max settings too in single player, not sure about multiplayer

    It's a fairly powerful card but obviously I can see it's not THAT powerful cos it does struggle sometimes

    And JrRacinFan, mine is a custom PCB made by Palit (only 7 inches long, shorter than my 7950GT) so I doubt any aftermarket products fit this
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page