1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Difference b/t Vista Ultimate and Premium

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Paulieg, Jan 6, 2008.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm going to give vista a try on my second rig. I've found home premium for about $50-60 cheaper than Ultimate. What are the significant difference b/t the two? Is it worth the extra cash to get Ultimate?
  2. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,527 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    You loose the pretties between the two. Aero I believe and Dreamscene arent part of it!

    Or you loose the memory hogs, depends on how you look at it!
  5. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    linux ftw:rockout:
  6. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    I'm almost positive you can enable Aero in the premium version.

    I have it running with Aero on my laptop so..
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Areo is included in Home premium. Dreamscene apparently is not, but there is a hack to enable it, I believe.
  8. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Dreamscene...

    how useless :rolleyes:
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    What is dreamscene?
  10. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    kwchang007 says thanks.
  11. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    support for dynamic hard disks is only in ultimate. not a biggie either. home premium is all you need. ultimate only has a few more things that most people will never even notice.
  12. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Yeah i got ultimate but only cus it came with me lappy i certainly dont use everything thats on offer. The only thing i might do in the future is go to 4 gig thats about it.
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol....why waste memory with a video/animation you never look at (idk about you, but most if not all of my desktop is covered when I'm using the comp)
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,160 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    Florida
    no premium has aero and dream scene the only diff between ultimate and premiujm is some security and back up programs it includes.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page