1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

difference between $100 vista home ultimate and the $200somthing premium

Discussion in 'General Software' started by quasar923, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    The first one is the retail version and the second one is oem, which basically means it comes without the pretty packaging.
     
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    1PC per copy, per Microsoft's rules. They are the same versions of Windows Vista, but the first is retail boxed, while the second is just the CD and Product Key meant for system builders (like many of us here at TPU).
     
  4. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    vista is only 1 computer per key
     
  5. quasar923 Guest

    yes i know it will only come with one key. but with my xp cd i can call up good ol microsoft and ask them for a new key bc my dad and my freind are also using the same cd and call up to get a diff key just click change product key enter the code on my dads dell and it gives a new key that i give to the ppl at microsoft and their indian ppl give me a new one and ive done it many times when ive had to reinstall. can i do that same thing with vista?
     
  6. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    but you have to pay for the new key still :)
     
  7. quasar923 Guest

    so if i get the retail i can use it multiple times. i never bought new keys when i did it with my xp all free. wat if someone had to get a new mobo and had oem. or what if i got oem or retail installed it then returned it?
     
  8. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    as long as its on one pc at a time your not breaking any rules :)
     
  9. quasar923 Guest

    well is it possible to break the rules?
     
  10. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    yes :) just have to avoid it from being activated when you go online :) not sure how :)
     
  11. quasar923 Guest

    so if it gets activated and its on more than one comp wat will happen. and wat if you dont activate it do you not get updates and such?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page