1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Difference between Fx and normal 64

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by S^line, May 4, 2007.

  1. S^line New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    158 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hillsboro
    I was looking at a new proccessor and motherboard combonation. And i would like to know the difference between AMD athlon 64 and the AMD athlon 64 fx?
  2. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    The FX line is AMDs high end line.
    They are like Intel's Extreme chips.

    They are OCed the highest (higher than any Athlon64).
    However, most Athlon64s will OC just as high so they usually arent worth the premium price.

    But if you dont OC then you might want to get one :)
  3. S^line New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    158 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hillsboro
    Okay thanks.
  4. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    What chips are you looking at?
  5. S^line New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    158 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hillsboro
    Nothing specific. Mainly going to Newegg. and Clicking cpu-AMD. Then i was wondering about the FX and regular.
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    FX have unlocked multiplyers and amd64 dont
  7. S^line New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    158 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hillsboro
    Alright thanks.
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,186 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    And they have unlocked multipliers so can give more flexibility in overclocking, i would suggest as a single core alternative if you were on socket 939 a 4000+ that will clock to 3.2Gig in most cases with dewcent cooling and motherboard, or, as a dual core solution, an Opteron 165 or 170 with decent stepping, all of those options will be MUCH cheaper than the FX series and hit as high speeds.
  9. S^line New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    158 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Hillsboro
    Is dual-core really cheaper?
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,186 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Cheaper than an FX...yes in Opteron 165 or 170 guise and they have 2 x 1MB L2 cache also :D stepping is the key tho to a good Opteron, if your interested I can help you with the stepping selection, my last chip was an Opty 170 overclocked to 3.1Gig.
    Last edited: May 5, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page