1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Digitus USB/Sata HDD Docking Station Win7 Problem

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RuskiSnajper, May 24, 2012.

  1. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Digitus USB/Sata HDD Docking Station Win7 Problem (solved)

    Hi


    Got a cheap digitus USB2 to Sata/IDE docking station, the station it self is a model that hooks up to an cell phone style power supply, it also has 4 pin to molex power connection, then it has the square-shape USB out to cable > USB dongle for PC, then it has stationary plugs for 2 ide and one satapower+satadata so you have to take the docker physically and take it to the HDD. On top is also a red power button and blue "active" button which I don't know if it blinks to show activity when there is data transfer, hopefully. I explained because the device doesn't seem to have any particular brand or name.


    Win7 registers the USB docker and the HDD, 2 devices identifed as the HDD (WD5000AAKS... )

    But the device doesn't appear anywhere to be opened, nowhere, manually trying to access it also doens't work because the pc just doesn't find it.


    I could try on another pc, also win7, but it's not available currently.
    Last edited: May 24, 2012
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    If you are using the power adaptor to wall socket and connecting the docking station via USB, there should be no reason why it can not read the drive unless the docking station has an issue with that hard drive.

    I have used a Welland Docking docking station and it did not like specific hard drives.

    As for digitus products....
    Selling 2.5" external cases the size of an old cellphone which needed to be powered by two separate USB cables was pretty embarrassing.
  3. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Well Im just going to hook it up with the PC normally, it's a standard PC hard drive

    Just hopefully that it works with the HDTV, i needed a USB>to>SATA Adapter to use it for tv's connection, which then used for recording tv programs. 1080i video runs out quickly in an 8GB patriot usb key, so 500GB should be enough :)

    Actually ... linux debian mint is installed on this HDD, i haven't accessed it since i broken down my PC for upgrades, so it's pretty much a new PC that i'll get

    No, currently i don't have my PC running, it's an office/media low-end home PC that im trying this now, but none of PCs are branded, all are custom and i don't have idea what could be causing such behavior, unless win7 is nagging so i'll have to try it on the other high-end PC later.

    Well i kind of didn't want to erase it all, because the HDTV needs to format device before it can use for recording (security stuff, so you can't pirate it) so wipes everythin on it, well i don't actually need the linux install it was just for learning for a few weeks nothing important on, i don't see how linux would intrfere with drive detection so ...

    Hopefully the HDTV detects different partitions ... not sure yet, never tried before.
  4. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Nah ... the HDD is not working, drivers were installed again.

    my main win7 HDD is still working fine, that is WD1002FAEX or Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 64MB Sata3, i've plugged it in in this same exact computer a few days ago and it shown all 3 partitions fine.

    This older model WD5000AAKS or Western Digital 500GB Caviar Blue 16MB Sata2, this one that the linux is on is from 2008, it worked completely fine last december, I ran it every day, it was just carried from PC to PC for data storage so when i had enough space i just used it for a linux install, no signs of being unstable or something.

    I'll have to install some HDD utility, seems like windows just can't see it.
  5. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Looks like it's the drive, windows doesn't recognize EXT4 , can't do anything with disk management, can't even see properties, doesn't even show the name of it, just space, will have to use GParted boot from cd.


    So much for my data :( ... i heard that there's some switch so you can run any linux install on different PC, they say it's very possible, but i havent did that, i'll try to boot it then anyways.
  6. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Boots fine ... surprisingly ...

    What an idiot was I, I got the whole HDD on a single partition :banghead:

    Now i'll need to recover this one ... to an image.

    Hopefully, if i find a way only to recover used space, not free space. Is that possible ? Opened another thred in software.
  7. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Last edited: May 24, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page