1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dire need of help with graphics choices!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Help, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is my purpose in this thread? Honestly, to improve my graphics without spending money, I'm only 17 as to why I can't at the moment. So without further due, here are my system specs.

    CPU Speed: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
    RAM: 7.9 GB/8 GB
    OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
    Free Disk Space: 789.2 GB

    Graphics Card now: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics (http://www.notebookcheck.net/ATI-Rad...00.9591.0.html)

    I have a ATI Radeonā„¢ 9550 (http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...fications.aspx), it is in my old extremely CRAP computer. I've read here and there about maybe using both since the 3200 is an integrated chip or whatever? Anyways, I'm not exactly tech savy, if someone could please respond as to what they would do in this situation, how they would do it, and of which of the 2 graphic cards should I use.

    Thanks a ton !!!

    (the primary use of doing anything, to, anything, is to have a better experience gaming, I mainly play RIFT.)
     
  2. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    You can't use both of them at once and the 9550 is so old you might as well throw it out the window...

    So I guess you're stuck with the HD3200 integrated, matey.
     
  3. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You think possibly the 9550 would run better than the HD3200? I'm not to tech savvy so I'm not sure.
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Can you go into the UserCP and put in all your system specs for us?
    (Don't forget to check the box to display the specs ;) )
     
  5. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sure, one moment.
     
  6. fireblade77

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    183 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    im no expert but i have built a lot of pc's over the past 15 years for me and friends and im quite sure u cant have an onboard graphics card and a graphics card that fits into the pci-e or agp slot working together cos if u want the other graphics card to work u need to turn the onboard one off in the bios. i only know of nvidia SLi and ati crossfire that u can have 2 or more graphics cards working together so u would need either 2 compatible nvidia or ati cards to run them together and a compatible motherboard.
    hope this helps :)
     
  7. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Basic Hardware information

    Motherboard: DX4300

    Basic I/O System(BIOS): Default System BIOS

    Central Processing Unit(CPU): AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor

    Physical Memory X 4

    2GB

    2GB

    2GB

    2GB

    Hard Disk: WDC WD10EADS-22M2B0 ATA Device (0.91TB)

    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

    Monitor: Gateway HX2000

    Audio Device X 2

    AMD High Definition Audio Device

    Realtek High Definition Audio

    Network Adapter

    Wireless Network Connection - Realtek RTL8190 802.11n Wireless LAN (Mini-)PCI NIC (Connected)

    Local Area Connection - Marvell Yukon 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Connected)

    Wireless Network Connection 2 - Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter (Media disconnected)

    Keyboard: Standard PS/2 Keyboard

    Keyboard: USB Input Device

    Mouse: USB Input Device

    Hardware Score (Base score: 4.3)

    Processor (Calculations per second): 7.1

    Memory (Memory Operation per second): 7.5

    Graphics (Desktop performance for Windows Aero): 4.3

    Gaming graphics (3D business and gaming graphics performance): 5.4

    Primary hard disk (Disk data transfer rate): 5.9

    hope these were the right things you were askign for
     
  8. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Brb one moment, grabbing food.
     
  9. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    229 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Belgium
    The old radeon will not fit, even it was, it wouldn't be an upgrade.
    I think your pc has two PCI-e x16 expansion slots and a 300W PSU (not sure though). Maybe some kind of cheap green edition card without any need of extra connectors will be what you are looking for.
     
  10. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Darn, anything I can do to the ATI Catalyst or the game RIFT, to improve my fps? It's terrible usually 10-15 fps.
     
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    there is nothing you can do other then turn the graphics down to the lowest and run the game at like 1024x768
    you you will be lucky if the onboard 3200's doesn't melt they are not ment to game with I have seen way to many of them meltdown because people where trying to game on them they are not build t to run games there built to browse the web and play the occasional 720p movie
     
  12. Help New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Haha phew, well guess I'll have to figure a way to get a decent gfx card someday in the future. Thanks for the help.
     
  13. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,240 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    A. Get a job.
    B. Have money for card, buy card.
    C. Have no time to play because of job.:laugh:

    Seriously, look for some of the cards that use less than 100 watts. Since this is where the manufactures make their money, there are a plethora of cards to choose from. Spend some time here on TPU's reviews and look at the Peak power usage, not maximum which is for benchmarking (Furmark). May I suggest you start with the HD 6850. Then you can go down the list in terms of power usage, performance and generations until you find what you can afford (eventually). A side benefit is that you will learn a lot about this range of video cards.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Story of my life. Try adding a wife and daughter into that mix. :eek:

    If you don't want anything too powerful (if you don't game a lot,) a GeForce GTS 620 might be a reasonable upgrade. It's not going to be all that fast, but it will only cost 60 USD.
     
  15. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Lots of times you can score a HD6570 from Newegg for less than $50. My point is that it isn't worth getting anything less than a HD6570 and that a HD6570 actually does have some gaming oomph. I know, I know...no money. Mow some more lawns or something.
     
  16. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,672 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    A cogent response to all of the questions:

    1) You're at a dead end on graphics cards, without buying something new.
    2) There is graphics card/onboard card linking (they call it hybrid crossfire), for the 6xxx and newer series from AMD. There is no support for this at all with cards as old as you are talking.
    3) Integrated 3xxx series cards aren't capable of gaming. They will melt down if you push them any harder than 720p video, and they don't even like that.
    4) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125431 Less than $50 with shipping included. It isn't a free upgrade, but it is a start. You won't need a new PSU (likely, your PSU doesn't have extra PCI-e power connectors), but you will get a huge performance increase.


    *A note. The 645x series isn't exactly powerful. It will beat out a 3200 14 times a week.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  17. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I was working at 14.. Get a job..
    Hell technically I had a paper route even younger, then worked for my mom at like 12, then had a real job, if it could be called that, at 14... lol..
     
  18. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    If you get a HD7750 you wont need a new power supply. Has plenty of power too
     
  19. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Are you a full time student? High school? College?
    Where are you at (country)?
     
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    I would suggest an HD5570 at least. The HD6450 although better than his IGP wouldn't suffice even for some light gaming at 1600x900 (his monitor native res).
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page