1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DirectX 9.0c April Update Released

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    DirectX 9.0c has now been updated for April to fix minor issues – this isn’t a vital update, but it’s recommended for those who are keen to keep their Windows install up-to-date or for those experiencing any problems with 3D applications.

    Download: DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer [45 KB - 36.6 MB]
    Download: DirectX Redist Runtimes [48.9 MB]
    Download: DirectX SDK [441 MB]
    Download: DirectX SDK: Symbol Files [36.1 MB]

    Most users will only need to use the web installer, but any Vista users updating DirectX will need to download the redistributable (it isn’t listed as being supported by the web installer) – it’s unclear whether any DirectX 10 updates are included.

    Source: Microsoft
     
  2. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Sooooooooooo...this is okay for Vista right?
     
  3. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Vista is listed under the redist version, so I'd assume it will work. I wouldn't expect it to do any harm after all - Vista needs DX9 installed to run some games, so this is just an update for that. I'll probably try it next time I use Vista, but I'm sticking to XP most of the time at the moment.
     
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Thanks for the update Jimmy.
    Could you answer a question i have?

    Is DX10 basicly DX9 but then updated for newer stuff? Or is DX10 completely different from DX9? If so is Vista using DX9 and 10?:)

    The final one, should i update using Vista?

    Thanks M8
     
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,803 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Cool. Thanks for the post Jimmy2004.
     
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    DX10 and DX9 are APIs created by Microsoft so gaming companies can create and make games to run on Windows.
    DX10 and DX9 are completely difference, esp. since they are not backwards compatable with each other (which sux).
     
  7. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    DX10 was built from ground up.

    DX9 had grown all the way from DX3.

    EDIT: Damn it Bruins, you beat me :p
     
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Thanks guys.:toast: Learned something again:laugh:

    So DX9 is Vista compatible to?
     
  9. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    It will work with DX9, but I think for some apps to work you'll need to install it (I don't think DX9 comes installed :confused: )
     
  10. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    YAY I WIN :)
    But you did give extra info.
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    so yeah... any improvement on performance? I wish microsoft, wait no micro$haft would at least release DX10 on XP.
     
  12. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    Why release it on XP? i bet there are good reasons why they arent
     
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    I do wish they would do a DirectX 9.0d. And the installer would "FORCE" install, not "clever but broken install". So many times an OS reinstallation is required just to fix DX9, when a true DX9 fresh install would fix the problem. Come on MS!
     
  14. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    They cant release DX10 on XP, and there will be no way to port it. Its been programmed for Vista (thats why its not backwards compatible)

    They wouldnt release DX9.0d, because they already have a DX10 ;)

    Also, Vista can install DX9 and its actually needed for some apps. I couldnt run C&C3 OR Rainbow six vegas without updating my DirectX 9 to the December version (i think :S). Counter strike: source automatically installed directx 9 for me (that was the first game i installed), so it probably wouldnt have run if i didnt install it.

    Look @ CS:S, if you go into options (even on Vista), it says 9.0c under "Software DirectX level", even if you have Vista.
     
  15. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    thanks for saving me some typing
    but in everest it says dx10
     
  16. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No problems :D
     
  17. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    There will never be a DX10 for XP, that will defeat the whole purpose of them forcing u to upgrade to vista!
     
  18. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Its not just the fact that they dont want to put DX10 on XP so they can make money on Vista, its also the fact that DX10 cant be used on XP, it cant even be ported. Its been totally re-porgrammed for use on Vista only
     
  19. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Well the basterds should "totally re-programm" it for XP now, shouldn't they.
     
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If they did that, they would release it in SP3, which would cost as much as Vista :D
     
  21. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    Is it available under automatic update on windows Vista? My Vista just nagging me for an update just now...

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
  22. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    False alarm.

    No DirectX upgrade on automatic update. So, should I install it?

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
  23. schriss New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I always install it manually.

    Vista has some DX9 preinstalled, but somehow incomplete or outdated and my games complained about DLL files missing, so I manually unpacked DX9 Distribution, there were just DLL files there, copied them to Vista system32 fixed all my problems.

    DX9 is just a bunch of DX9xxx.dll files, won't do harm, will help run games better on both: XP and Vista.
     
  24. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah i had to manually copy the DX9 dll's too.
     
  25. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Like I said, I do wish they would do a DirectX 9.0d. And the installer would "FORCE" install, not "clever but broken install". So many times an OS reinstallation is required just to fix DX9, when a true DX9 fresh install would fix the problem. Come on MS!

    NOTE I wrote DX9.0d and NOT DX10 features.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page