1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DiRT 2 PC System Requirements Released

Discussion in 'Games' started by TheMailMan78, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,315 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    Well these seem to be pretty moderate. I can't wait to see some members of TPU to post some sweet DX11 screens.

    Source
     
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    lol at those minimum specs i bet its a slide show from hell haha
     
  3. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Seems like I'm going to have to upgrade here soon to be able to play all these games coming out.
    AMD, can you release your Magny Cours right meow plx?
     
  4. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Get an i5 and call it a day :toast:
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    lol i think any quad or high clocked dualcore will push this game just fine lol saying u need an i7 is overkill if u look at the performance difference between pII and i7 id say core2quad is more then enough and we all know it hahaha man i love the over estimation of recommended specs and the absurdity of minimum specs also if there recommending the 5700 series that would mean that for DX10 etc a 4890 or gtx 275 alone should max the game rather easily
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2009
  6. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,618 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    This made me laught recommended systems for DX11 I would like to see where in windowsXP is DX11 :roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll:
     
  7. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    That same time frame continuum that DX10 is in.
     
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That would require me to get a new mobo and ram along with it, and probably even Windows 7 to make it complete.

    Don't know if that would be a good or bad thing, as i don't think it will offer much of a performance boost over my current QX6700. But i really want some new parts.
     
  9. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Lol i wasnt being serious. Going i5 even on DDs cheap deal broke me for 2 weeks and i only did it cause i could get away with it. Your rig should run it fine in DX10 id gather.

    But going from a 3.9ghz overclocked P2 to i5 i have seen a great deal boost in performance.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,546 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Cant wait to play this (got it on steam with the 5870, just waiting for the day) and get some screenies up MailMan, the technology preview and gameplay vids looks pretty sweeeeet, and it would be nice to have a 5870 Play it in ALL of its glory with nice FPS, considering eyefinity demo's were apparently running on a single 5870 and using the DX11 features.
     
  11. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Hey! Screw you and your 5870 :laugh:
     
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,546 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Yeah I guess with the lack of cypress chips around, I am one of the few on TPU with one......

    woooooooooooohooooooooooooooo :toast:
     
  13. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Wellll my phase is on the way so ill just try and beat you with a heavy oc on the cpu :laugh but i will have no DX11 support :cry:
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,315 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    I doubt you see that much of a difference between an OC P2 and an i5. As a matter of fact it sounds like you down graded for the most part for gaming.
     
  15. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Wrong. My i5 is faster than any other cpu ive ever had.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,315 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    Every benchmark on the planet must be wrong then.
     
  17. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Every benchmark isnt running at 4ghz either.
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,315 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    And neather is the P2 at your 3.9 ;)
     
  19. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    100mhz wouldnt push it above the performance of my i5 though. I can downclock to 3.9ghz and still be faster than my P2s. (I feel like im talking about Pentiums :laugh:)
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,315 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    I know! Every time someone says P2 I think "WTF is this guy still pushing a Pentium 2 for!" :laugh:

    Anyway If you think the i5 "feels" faster thats subjective and Ill agree with ya. However its not any faster for gaming.
     
  21. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    If your judging off of reviews then you should guess again. Reviewers typically leave everybody stock when doing games. Thats a 2.66ghz i5 vs a 3.4ghz p2. Clock for clock an i5 WILL perform better than the p2 and take less wattage at the same time.
    Edit: And dont forget about this
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=782714&postcount=59
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page