1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DiRT only gets about 12FPS

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by cdawall, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    downloaded the demo and im only getting 12fps average all settings on medium and my vid card @480/1.4ghz cpu @stock 2ghz

    i tried the res @ 1280X1024 and 1024X768 and both gave 12fps wtf?

    think the cpu needs a healthy boost to get higher



    maybe 2.4ghz or so to get good framerate?
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    im reading somemore it appears im not the only one with this issue

    better parts yet having the same issue as me :ohwell: any chance i can get better FPS? short of upgrading of course
  3. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    With my 3200+ at 2.6 i couldnt play worth a damn. Once I got my opty stock 2ghz wasnt even good nuff, i was cpu limited until about 2.4ghz x2. The engine uses alot of cpu power, I can pretty much run the game maxxed with my x1800 at 1024 just due to the cpu speed.
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    No i don't think you will get much higher.:eek:
    I have got the same issue. If i race with multiple cars the framerate goes down drastic,
    When i race alone i get 30 fps on 1600x1200 and medium settings.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    wtf thats retarded the game no one can play without dual core and suped up gfx :p assholes glad i didnt buy it


    tried running @2.4ghz ram @480 3-4-4-8 1T 7800GS @480/1.4ghz AND STILL ONLY GOT 15FPS MAX WTF 1024X768 med detail on most low on some :ohwell:
  6. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,475 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    its a next gen games guys ffs of course it will tax the older hardware.

    rty dropping the eye candy.

    the shadows are what crippled my machine, turn them down and it made it smooth for me.
    cdawall says thanks.
  7. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,221 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    960
    I nearly bought DIRT today... think I'd better hold off until I go Core2Duo.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]


    shit am i artifacting?

    stock clocks 45C MAX temp
  9. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    lol at the nv/ati cards in the specs, both the nv ones are wayy faster than the ati ones listed. lol

    but it recomends an 8800 for nv which means that it doesn't think the 7800 or 7900 series is quite fast enough to run it, and while the x1950 series may not seem to be much faster than the 7900 series, the x1950's have more shaders. which is why the 8800's are probably the real recomended along with the 2900's as it seems to be a shader optimised game.

    only real way to tell is to have someone with an x1950 pro post up, and if they've a reasonable amount of frames, then you'll know that's why. 8800's coul post up too, but I doubt that'd help, the 8800's are just plain faster overall.
    trodas and below ambient say thanks.
  10. Zero Cool

    Zero Cool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,199 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    I cant see nothing, must be your eyes. get some sleep
  11. TonyStark

    TonyStark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    225 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    You can't see that big gray diagonal line in the middle of the screen? :wtf:
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's aliens shooting brown lazer beams at you.
  13. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Overseas
    Honestly I have no issues at all, runs on ultra @ 1280x1024 36+ FPS at least, even in races with multiple cars. However it sounds like an issue my friend had once in F.E.A.R. Even with the fully patched version he'd get a max of like 20FPS with a 7900GT for no reason. A clean install would run great once, then chug after that.
  14. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    lol hd2900xt sure and a quad core, but he's on a 7800gs.
  15. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    looks like it :-\
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    no no its the aliens with brown lasers
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ugh, downloading the demo and it's only 80 some kpb/s.....this is going to take forever...might have to pause the download
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,456 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    7800's and 7900's i found terrible for dust check near the fan make sure it's all clear.

    GL.
  19. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Overseas
    7800's and 7900's shouldn't have the kind of trouble though I would think. The only reason I never played it on my X800XT was because it requires SM3.0 (booooooo). It might just be a driver issue.
  20. Zero Cool

    Zero Cool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,199 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    how dare you:slap:
  21. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    yeah but you have to remeber the 7800 gs is basically a faster 6800 ultra, both have 16 pipes, the 7800 is just clocked higher . now the 7800gt at 20 pipes or the 7800 gtx at 24 pipes might not struggle so much.
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm glad to hear it's not broken
    cdawall says thanks.
  23. daboggeyman

    daboggeyman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    114 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    N.E. Alabama
    Dirt! nice game lots of fun. Really nice :roll:
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    give me a link please to the download for the demo i want to try it. Also i will post the FPS with my hardware after i get it downloaded.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it will be done in 40min
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page