1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dirt2 freezing during races

Discussion in 'Games' started by stuartb04, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    decided to have a blast today and was confronted with this

    i have changed graphic settings.started a new game,etc.

    the game literially freezes my whole computer to the point where
    i have to hard reset it.

    i also dont get overheating

    ideas guys...:confused:
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    Try going to My Documents\My Games\Dirt2\Hardwaresettings\
    Then rename the extention .xml to .old and relaunch ...you will have to reset up all your in game settings but maybe it will fix the hardloack ups.Good luck:toast:
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Did you try Dirt2 fix catalyst driver ?
     
  4. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    yes i have
     
  5. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    nah that does not work either
    running out of ideas now...:cry:
     
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    FWIW, I get occasional crashes (like every three hours of gameplay) in Dirt 2. I have yet to pin it down. Ironically, thats less frequent than I see crashes on some of my kids Wii games :)

    How often is it happening?
     
  7. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    hard to say how often
    varies between 5-20 minutes of play

    its only during races
     
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea that's too often and hard to pin down. Anything OC'd?
     
  9. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    only my 4850
     
  10. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Set every hardware at stock settings...and then try game.
     
    stuartb04 says thanks.
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    How fast?

    Ditto... :)
     
  12. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    have done so

    so far so good.
    will report back

    also there seems to be a few fixes on youtube
    that may work
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Anything to report? Silence usually = good.
     
  14. fluxc0d3r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The latest nvidia drivers caused the game to freeze during races. I'm gonna revert back to older drivers.
     
  15. stuartb04

    stuartb04

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Bristol-U.K
    yea
    basically deleted gfx config in docs
    and reset ccc to default

    and also reinstalled gfx drivers

    hard to say which solved the problem,but i have pretty much
    played 8 hours of gameplay without problems

    all good..........cheers guys....:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page