1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Disable GeForce GTX 580 Power Throttling using GPU-Z

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    You know, it's really beginning to look like we need an uprated power spec for ATX & PCI-E power delivery. I'm sure we're hitting the same brick wall that CPUs did a few years ago, which is why these latest gen cards are getting held back in the performance they deliver and are not really massively faster than the ones that they replace. I'll bet the new Cayman GPU will have a lot of the same power and heat issues as nvidia's Fermi GPU.

    I'm sure that if a 600W power budget (with appropriate cooling) was available, some excellent performance gains could be achieved, like double or more performance and extra rendering features.
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    on most decent motherboards you can draw well over 100 w from the slot alone without bad things happening - because motherboard designers specifically design for that.

    if you buy a $30 motherboard then the boss of those guys told them to save 5 cents to meet their price target -> possible damage when drawing too much current for a long time
    Mussels says thanks.
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    My old crappy ECS KA3-MVP allowed me to manually set the wattage limit to over 100w, let alone a quality board.

    So, basically, you are saying the limiter is basically to prevent crappy boards from burning out, not for the benefit of the card itself? (Which is pretty much what I suspected from the beginning)
  4. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    495 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Finland
    Nothing new with cards detecting furmark and throttling. ATi has done it ever since 2008. I can't believe how big a fuss out of nothing this has become.
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    it's for both

    any idea where the system is described? i dont see any evidence of it when doing my power consumption testing. maybe you mean vrm overheat protection which reduces clocks on overheat?
  6. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    495 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes they changed the method, HD4 detected exe and HD5 have hardware protections. End result is same.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/2841/11

    T
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,867 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Location:
    Rochester area
    !firehazard :shadedshu
    350 watts @ 12v = 30 amps - the 75-100 that the pcie-buss can supply so you are right on the edge of what the wires from you're psu can handle ..
    most wires are only rated for about 8-10 AMPS > then.melt
    I put forth this question when does performance out weight the extra power usage and risk
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Not all wires melt at 20A. Higher gauge/thicker wire = more amps, and not only that, but that load is spread across multiple wires.

    A quality board and quality psu has no problems handling these kinds of loads.
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,867 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I know that but consider when you start adding the rest of the power hungry components
    bad things will happen
    unless you can find a psu with 15g wiring most are 20-18
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    It's still not a problem with a high qulaity psu. If you can afford a 580, you can afford the high quality psu to go with it. I'll put 30A from a video card thru my psu all day, and never have to worry about it.
  11. bakalu

    bakalu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    My ASUS GeForce GTX 580 @ 880MHz/1050. This overclock was 100% stable on games and 3DMark Vantage

    vCore=1.138V, stock fan, FAN set 85%, Room Temp=25oC. I rename Furmark to nemesis and run over 40'. Here is my result:
    [​IMG]

    Maximum Temp 70oC

    What more you can say :D

    Attached Files:

  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    renaming furmark will not make any difference for nvidia's detection system
    HTC and Splave say thanks.
  13. Splave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    New York
    alot of crying in this thread? if you are a gamer/normal user this doesnt even apply to you. To a bencher innovation like this is invaluable. thanks w1zzard :D
  14. INTHESUN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is this meant to do. Just tried it and I don't know if I did it correct.


    is this correct?.



    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
  15. edison New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    thx wizzard great addition.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page