1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Disable windows 7 cached memory (mapped file)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RuskiSnajper, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. drmurda New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Now that is one big memory leak ...

    You don't need to waste money on more RAM, the game is either bugged or there's another thing wrong going on, but judging that you posted both images it's really looks more like the game's fault.

    You need to contact the developer and show them this first, but first of all you'll need to to a bit of research before being sure that it's the game's fault.

    Get back with more specs if you can, CPU-Z all tabs.

    You can't just buy more RAM unless you have to replace sticks depending on the, unless you're know what your doing but if you know what you're doing you would have thought that the giant 6GB of RAM is more likely a memory leak than actual memory consumption. Looking at the exe it only has ~388 MB of commit (which is the number that counts how much of RAM it takes) ... that shouldn't take 6GB obviously.
    Never played it but I know World of Tanks is some kind of a web game with a download ...

    This isn't the corect thread however.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,742 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Do you have all the RAM so you DON'T use it or did you buy it to be used all the time? Cached stuff gets purged as soon as system requests more memory so there is very little point in disabling it.
     
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    By very little he means theirs 0 point to disable it.

    And I'm just guessing were talking about a page file.. Cause your posts in this thread are the biggest clusterfuck of confusion I've ever seen on these forums, you put spam bots to shame when it comes to making sense.
     
  5. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,370 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221

    I believe he thinks the "cached" part of system RAM is being used and not allowing processes to use the memory, even though it is free if a program requests or need to use it.


    The memory manager in Windows 9X environment was the one that would never dump leaking programs and caused all sorts of issues, including duplication of process in RAM and on Page file. Windows XP was significantly different, and yet again Windows 7 and 8 are yet again much superior to allowing individual programs and users to try and adjust memory quotas.

    In short, just like W1zz said, don't disable anything like page file, or superfetch. Instead place them on the fastest disk you have available at 2-4X the amount of RAM you have installed for normal users at a static size when you first install windows and it will be fine.




    You realize all those "huge" numbers are in KB?


    I fail to see any issues other than it being a alienware.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  6. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Guys this is an old thread the guy brough up asking some offtopic question.
     
  7. henry2k New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Had the same problem, System is "eating" memory to put some parts of a 15GIG AVI into memory (for a single video encoding pass) and win7 isn't releasing this memory by itself, chrome swapped nearly everything, webpages took ages to load and programs will load (from ssd) in minutes instead of seconds, by "clearing" the standby-memory (with rammap) my system got 2.2GIG ram back and everything was fast again.

    I'm some of the persons who never (ever) restart windows (until there are updates that requires restarting) and i'm asking if there is any program that will periodically clear this standby-memory for me... because this is not the first time this happened to me that win7 tried to squeeze a >10GIG AVI into Standby-Memory (for faster access... haha... very funny... its one giant AVI thats processed from top to bottom once and after that never used again).

    Or can i tell win7 to NOT cache AVI-Files into memory? At least not a 15GB AVI thats meant to be reencoded from lossless to h264.
     
  8. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    I got my new install and set up the optimizations and config to disable most of the what I did before but ofcourse it's the same dynamic memory management has 8GB in standby, this is when I ran a few days and games/apps.

    I just wish someone would find the configs in registery, it's weird this would be left locked down to core development.


    I now have a new PC with 16GB so it's not a problem anymore for me, I realized the idea of stanby memory as a good thing but when it's not releasing that for other more important things then that's the problem which would want someone to disable it completely to avoid that.

    Although photoshop and premiere did take a huge chunk at one point it went past 16 but that was just one moment, i did a lot of editing but it was just some small mp4 vids and jpg pics. But then again I did not check the memory slides so I don't know how much of it was , I can confirm that for some reason it did jump like 6GB-8GB up and down from to 16 and down, not sure if that was mem management or the apps, if I see it happen next time I will keep my eyes open.

    I immediately though about it though, not realizing this thread but the fact that how the heck could it run out, or maybe it was some kind of memory leak, it was running for 3 days already I think so it could be that effect.

    But I did realized more how much windows doesn't like running for long, sleeping makes a ton of mess in windows/Temp and maybe elsewhere.
     
  9. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,963 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,013
    What a nightmare of text and confusion in here.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page