1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Disk boot failure!!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by quantumsix492, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. quantumsix492 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just built my new computer. I can post and go to bios, but that's it. It recognizes my keyboard, dvd drive and harddrive, but everytime it normal boots, it has the DISK BOOT failure, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER... I'm trying to load up ubuntu from the disk drive, but it doesn't work even though i set the mobo to boot from dvd drive first.


    This is a new oem HDD, does it need to be formated?
    Is there a way to format it then without an OS?
  2. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    well, you can start by making sure they're both not on master and most hdd's come with a bootable disc to format them but it should already be

    did you buy it used
  3. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,957 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    412
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Since it is set to boot from the DVD drive first, does it, at any point say "To boot from cd or dvd press any key..."?
  4. quantumsix492 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i bought it new (oem) so it came w/ nothing... is there a way for me to make a bootable disk right now... i can't really format it on this comp cause sadly it is soo old it has no sata ports available... um also "a cheese danish" it doesn't way that "to boot from cd or dvd press any key" i'm using a gigabtye ma78gm-s2h btw.
  5. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    You need to go into your bios and correct the boot order
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    format the drive and try again. I had the same problem and formatting it took care of it
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. quantumsix492 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is there a way to format the hdd from the bios though or through a boot disc?
  8. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    You can create a boot disk... but if you have access to another pc, just connect that drive and format it. You shouldnt have to format a oem drive. Are you sure your boot order is correct?
  9. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    You can format the disk with like fdisk or something. A linux disk would make more sense but you say it won`t boot....
  10. quantumsix492 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks i think i got it! yay! i justed used xp instead of ubuntu and everything turned out fine.
  11. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Gr8.GL !

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page