1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Disk Read Errors

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ben Clarke, Nov 17, 2007.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, earlier, I got a BSOD. Now I'm getting disk read errors. The error on the BSOD was 0x00000F4, and now, when I load up the system, it posts, does everything, then, just beofre it would start loading Windows, it comes up with:

    Disk read error
    Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart.

    Any ideas? I kinda need to get it working ASAP...

    Thanks,

    Ben
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2007
  2. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    try spin right by steve gibson or run a dos scandisk if it is a write error it should fix it.
  3. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    It's a read error, AFAIK. And I don't have a floppy drive on this system to make a bootable floppy, an dno CD's to burn to either.
  4. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    if you have a bootable linux cd use that and try and run a scan that way
  5. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    No Linux disks, never figured out how to use Linux.
  6. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    how about making a usb drive bootable.
  7. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    there's a windows repair option on your xp installation cd - try it.
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    STOP

    1./ Do not use your HDD. Take it out of the PC if there are any important files/data on it.

    2./ Install a new HDD with an OS on it.

    3./ Once up and running, put the old drive in as slave or second channel, or run it from a USB external.

    4./ Take all critical data off.

    5./ NOW you can try the disk remedies suggested. But whatever happens, dont risk making a bad sitatution worse until you have copies of critical data.
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    do was lemonade said, you've corrupted the boot sector/mbr of the drive and it cant find your installation, you'll want to use another hdd to load the info on the bad hdd if theres any important files on it. it could've been a virus or something that you got maybe that did this?
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,876 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,666
    Location:
    US
    I had that problem about 1-2 week ago. The reason i was able to save the OS was due to having the OS installed on 2 partions of the same drive ( all though another drive should work too ). So i booted of the other OS and did what some one else said above ran chldsk on that partition.

    And back up all wanted data as soon as you can.
  11. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Hmm. Left it for a bit, works fine now. Upgrading to Vista x64 anyway.
  12. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Unreliable HDD? Chuck it out Mr. PC. Man. Only use this HDD as a temp drive. MUCH TOO RISKY to use for critical data/apps. And potentially a big time waster.
  13. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Yeah, I had 2 drives in, was installed on 80GB drive, now Vista x64 installed on 160GB drive, 80GB there just to say I have 2 HDD's. Thanks for the help.
  14. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    My 80GB WD blue screens when Windows attempts to load also. BSOD and restart. Windows froze 1 night and does this ever since. Could the drive be saved for a spare? Sorry dont mean to thread jack but I saw he had the same issue as me.
  15. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Try it and see. Mine's OK as a spare.
  16. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    What I did b4 is I have my 20GB Fireball with the OS and put it as the master and the 80GB WD as slave and it still BSOD even when I had it boot up to windows on the 20GB. Maybe wiping it clean will help?
  17. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Possibly. Try it and see, no way of telling till it's done.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page