1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Display driver has stopped responding and recovered problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by evildevilbg, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. evildevilbg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/7664/sadvw1.jpg
    I have Palit hd4850 and Catalyst 8.12. I'm running Vista and this happens when I play games...
    The screen freezes and it show me black screen for a couple of minutes than this error message appear and I can continue playing...
     
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,553 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    I would download the drivers again and reinstall. Of course making sure you take all remnants of the old ones off first.
     
  3. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,607 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i had such problem with my old his 4870x2 card but with my new palit card i dont get it for now.
     
  4. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    You don't have your card overclocked do you? if yes, then you need to reduce the speed.
    I get this whenever my card is clocked too high
     
  5. evildevilbg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    670/1060!
     
  6. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Try putting it back to stock and see if you still get the problem. Mine craps out at about 730/1170 but i have a gigabyte with zelman cooler and they seem to run much cooler
     
  7. evildevilbg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I fixed the problem!
    I have XP now! :)
     
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,097 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    I my self have only had that issue due to to much overclock or heat from the video card.
     
  9. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    And the fix was just swapping from vista to xp?
     
  10. evildevilbg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For me yes! I reduced the clock but it kept freezing and crashing so I install the good old XP!
    Maybe I install XP because this wasn't my only problem with Vista...
    Someone said "Vista is sexy but ugly" It's true.(in my opinion this is so true! )
    Thank to everyone!!!
    :)
     
  11. bhanja_trinanjan New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Vista ISN'T UGLY.... the point is that XP does not support DX10.... so the card is not stressed with DX10 code in XP... and that's why it runs ok.

    But the true test of a DX10 card is DX10 code and a lot many cards stumble on this.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page