1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by skellattarr, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered. i get this error when i play world of warcraft and the screen gos black and game crashes.plus in the windows experience index score both my video scores are 6.6 is that low for a evga gtx 285 in windows 7 64 bit rc ?
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,336 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    How about driver verison? I've noticed some newer drivers do this more often for me on my GTX260 compared to some older drivers. The worst was the 185 series, though I still get a random one on the 186whql while browsing, never any other time, which is odd...maybe once a week at most though, so I deal with it.

    I hope you play more than wow to workout that sweet gtx285 of yours! :D
     
  3. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i have the lates drivers i read ware older drivers work better but i don't know whch one for win 7.
     
  4. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Give 182.50 a try. Lots of reports on 185-186 crashing like that.
     
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Miami
  6. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i fixed the problem what i did is disabled the physx after that i was able to play wow for 4 hours with no problems.
     
  7. Erak22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Where is that setting. It's terrible trying to do bgs with your screen going black every 30 secs.
     
  8. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    if you have a nvidia card you right click on your desktop then click on the nvidia control panel then in set physx cofiguration chose disabled then apply and your set.
     
  9. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    6.6? i thought the highest possible was 5.9
     
  10. Sean8

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    windows 7 is higher than 5.9
     
  11. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,647 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    windows 7 goes up to 7.9. yea i used to get nvlddmkm error all the time when i tried to SLI my 8800GT's like a year ago never found out why but yea that error occurs for a bunch of different reasons. seems you found your solution though :toast:
     
  12. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    well i sent my cpu in for replacement it had that whea logger error event id 21 when i get it back i hope i get a higher score on my video. i noticed that on my old mobo and cpu i get a video score of 6.8 a .2 higher then my newer mobo and cpu. my old cpu is a amd athlon 6000+ 3 ghz and my old mobo is a asus crosshair 1.
     
  13. Loke Guest

    This crappy score means nothing:laugh:. It calculates the score of CPU by frequency, of memory by its amount. It's give a sh!t on what type of CPU or memory you have, what is really important. In example 2Gb of DDR2 800 in single channel have the same score as 2Gb of DDR2 1066 in dual:laugh:. My RAID0 have the same score as sinlge HDD. Do you still think it is the real deal?:) Don't look at score, man. Run the real benchmarks and see the real results;).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2009
  14. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    hi every one im back with the same problem Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered error when i play wow. its happening a lot more now i have the newest drivers and my card gets up to 59c when i play. not Sher how to fix this any ideas?
     
  15. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,647 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    Have you tried reverting back to previous drivers? if you have and the problem persists, have you taken of the plastic shield of your GTX 285's heatsink to clean it of dust(good to do regardless of temps), and have you tried underclocking our core clocks? usually if its vid memory failing you'll get glitched/off color, sometimes flashing, textures in games. and i'd do that short troubleshoot in that order
     
  16. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    the card is clean no dust i reinstalled 196.21 driver same one i was using it was a little better but still does the black screen once in a wile. do you have any suggestions on witch driver may work better?
     
  17. baconbirgir New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    have you updated your audio drivers? i had the same issue with my ati card both onboard and one that i installed and anytime i tried to play bioshock it came up with message and made my pc crash

    but just try to update them through your mobo manufacturers site see if that works
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I was having this same problem I was told ( By the good people here on techpowerup ) to DL the web update for DX it fixed my problem . Hell I thought my video card was on its way out ! But this fixed it ! Here is a link . I hope it helps .

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/directx/aa937788.aspx
     
  19. mrigom New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    india mumbai
    theres not much support for games for windows 7 so stay away form that os if u wanna game xp is great for games i suggest u install xp or install the game on a pc on which u have xp installed if u dont want to reinstall all the oses again as xp will fuck up 7 and vista both bootloaders.
     
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well first off you are wrong . XP was good not any more . Windows 7 is by far the best OS ever ! It has more support for games than EVER ! even games that worked on windows 98 LIKE home world work fantastic on windows 7 64 bit no less !

    The problem is DX11 you need to use the web updater this will fix that issue . It is not the OS that is doing it , it IS however the drivers and DX that are conflicting . Windows XP is no longer supported by Microsoft and that in it's self should tell you to stay away from it . :twitch:
     
  21. mrigom New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    india mumbai
    i agree with ya but lots of incompatibility problems like limited dos support and stuff and first of all there are still many people who are not convinced with vista or 7 as for all vista sucks bigtime and 7 seven rocks as u said but i dunno abt games :p as i have 7 in my pc i only use it for surfing or chatting and all office work stuff as it gets more lively and not dull as xp is:shadedshu whereas xp consumes far more less ram than 7 :cool: is not much of a resorce hog and not very demanding as for folding rigs.
     
  22. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    Skell,

    I used to face this issue. It was more of a temp thing. I installed manual fan control utility like evga precision or Riva tuner and increase the fan speed manually to max while gaming. The problem went away. U might also want to monitor the temps when this issue happens the next time. I hope there is good airflow inside your case. Lets know how it goes!!
     
  23. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    He beat me to it >.<
     
  24. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,197 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Heck even my CnC for windows 95 worked on Win7.
     
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,168 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    i have this problem with the 197's only in photoshop but if your getting it in games and windows most likey your ram bro
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page