1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Display Driver Stopped Responding

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Zaspera, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    What is this error from? I'm using 2x 24" monitors and sometimes, it makes the screens freeze for 2 seconds, gives me that error, and resumes normal play? Is it a heat issue with the 6970 or what? I have the latest drivers so that can't be the problem.
  2. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Is your card overclocked? I get this from an unstable overclock. Try reducing the core/mem clock, or bump the voltage just a bit and try again.
  3. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    unstable overclock but heat could be an issue definitely.
  4. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    It's a completely stock 6970. It was running around 81° when this was happening though. Somehow my fan speed got knocked down to 20%. It's running at 63° right now with no problems for the last 15 minutes.
  5. ZindaqI New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have this problem too ..
    my card MSI R5850 with power supply 500W
    Core Clock 775
    Memory Clock 1125
    voltage 1.088
  6. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    Go figure, I just started having this issue as well, only when trying to run Kombuster or FurMark to test my OCs. Went back down to stock on my 6870 (900/1050) and it still happens.

    Perhaps it's the driver I'm running? Running the 11.10 v3 preview.
  7. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    Bump. Really need some advice on this issue, it's extremely annoying. Thanks for any advice!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page