1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Displayport to HDMI Adapter

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by DarkEgo, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Will this Displayport to HDMI adaptor work for Eyefinity? I want to run 3 1080p monitors at a total resalution of 5760x1080. From the discription it appears that it will work but can anyone confirm?
  2. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    probably not

  3. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    I am confused as to if that is per display or for all 3 of them.
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I see what you're are saying.. it is hard to tell whether or not it mans the individual adapter itself could be uses over the spec'd res...

    Now I'm starting to think that it means per display not combined and thinking yes it should work.

    Single link is 1920x1200 max so you should be good
  5. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    no it will not work, you need an active display port adapter.

    Sapphire has one that uses a usb to power the adapter
  6. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    this one is active. it's not powered although. if so, whats the difference between this or others?
  7. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    shevanel says thanks.
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    nice. price?
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    that is an active adaptor, so it *will* work.

    Since its not powered, its capped at 1920x1200@60Hz


    Its as simple as that, no ifs or buts.
    shevanel says thanks.
  10. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    You sure?
    I thought you needed a power source for dp - dvi , since most were buying that apple adapter

    I'm a little confused by this
    looks like they are coming out in a few days
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/4291727/art/sapphire-technology/displayport-to-dual-link.html
    shevanel says thanks.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    There is nothing to be confused about.

    Displayport doesnt have the signals neccesary for DVI/HDMI operation - but some video cards provide those signals as an 'optional extra'

    On those cards, a passive adaptor will do the trick.

    For eyefinity, that signal isnt there. So you need an active adaptor.


    The only reason everyone uses the powered adaptors, is because people seem to think active = powered. Thats not the case, as this things page clearly states - its active, but due to no power it has a resolution limit.
    Assassin48 says thanks.
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    damn buying a 52" is cheaper than going eyefinity lol
  13. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    I hate being a Ginny-pig. The above mentioned adapter does NOT work. Can't get more then 2 displays to register at one time.
    Mussels says thanks.
  14. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I have a question.

    What the hell do we even need DP for in the first place? I mean isn't DVI and HDMI enough standards for this industry?

    Remember when we used DE-15 VGA ports? From ~1987 to 200x that was the one and only video port on the back of virtually every PC out there! We used that baby for nearly 20 years! Now okay I understand the limitations of the Analog RGB vs Digital signals and we needed a change.

    It was time to go digital!

    But DVI hasn't really been used for that long. What it's been mainstream for 5 years? HDMI hasn't even fully caught on yet and here comes DP? New monitors and shit like this. I would rather have 3 HDMI ports on the back of my Radeon than this DP crap!

    Who's with me? 3 HDMI ports anyone?

    I mean sure I've heard DP has more bandwidth and blah blah blah.

    But my question is...

    Do we really need it?

    ...REALLY?

    If the answer is no than why has it even become something on our video cards? Why is anyone supporting it at all?

    /rant
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    DVI and HDMI might as well be the same standard. They are when it comes to visuals.


    We're already pushing DVI/HDMI to its limits, and HDMI has a crappy audio implementatio - so DP comes along to fix it.
  16. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Yeah I realize DVI-D and HDMI are basically the same thing with a different shape and size port.

    You said HDMI has crappy audio implementation but do you think DP will take into the CES/Home Theater market or is it strictly going to stay in the PC world? From what I've seen only PC companies like Dell are pushing it. Plus they would have to start selling receivers with DP on them and I can just see the people who just bought HDMI receivers complaining about that!

    Ultimately couldn't the audio issues with other things be upgraded in the HDMI interface and remain backwards compatible? If you buy equipment that has HDMI on it, but your source only supports the lower standards for audio (or video) at least it would still work, you could still plug in from your source and use the same cable. No different than USB 1.1 and USB 2.0 or SATA 150 and SATA 300. At least you can use SATA 300 drives on an old motherboard and use the same cable too. You shouldn't have to buy a new motherboard every few years just because someone says we need to update the specs on Hard Drives. Heck they could simply implement an optical line into the HDMI jack and if your equipment has that option it uses it. I always thought they were going to do that anyway.

    I think it has more to do with separate companies backing separate brands. I understand we live in a democracy but sometimes I just hate it when this happens. Sometimes I want someone to step in and say "no only one standard for now!" someone like Intel who has enough pull to get the majority behind them. They do it with many other standards in the PC world don't they?
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2010
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    HDMI for example, can send 5.1 sound to a TV/screen - but only 2.0 can come out. Yeah. go figure.

    I believe DP fixes that.
  18. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    That's weird I always just figured HDMI used the same SPDIF signal as anything else. The ATi cards claim they output 7.1 and that's even over DVI on many cards like NVidia cards that actually just take the SPDIF signal off the motherboard or sound card to pass through the HDMI port. Why should the jack matter in the end? Know what I mean?

    Or does this have something to do with copy protection/encryption? Like the audio is encrypted (like the video is with HDCP) and down-converted to 2.0 if it's converted to analog or the encryption isn't supported. That would kinda make sense.
  19. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    From what I understand it has to be a powered Display port if it's not native to work. So No I don't think it will work.

    But if it does let us all know. I would love to have Eyfinity .... I have enough monitors for the setup..... just none of them are Native Display port.... and don't feel like spending 100 bucks for a cable to make it work. Damn Display port!
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    you need some kind of speaker system PRIOR to the TV.

    As an example of where the HDCP screws up: HDTV's are allowed to output compressed audio (DD, DTS, etc) over SPDIF if it comes from their built in TV tuner. They are NOT allowed (by the HDMI standard) to allow 5.1 (or anything other than 2.0 uncompressed PCM audio) out of their outputs, if HDMI is used as the input.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    HDMI can output 7.1 channel at 24bit 192khz PCM. More than anyone is capable of hearing the difference of, even with the world's best possible audio setup.

    But, DP's extra bandwidth does enable other benefits, like daisy-chaining monitors.
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    he was referring to my badly worded post. i'll make a silly diagram.




    HDMI source ------ > TV -----------> 2.0 sound only
    HDMI source ------- > decoder/speakers (upto whatever input was) ------> TV

    "screens" for lack of a better word, are not allowed to output more than 2.0 audio from HDMI inputs. The decoder has to be BEFORE the screen (stupid, but true)
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Oh, yeah, pretty much. That's why I just broke down and bought an HDMI capable receiver.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    i'm pretty sure (but not 100%) that display port does away with this silly problem. at the very least, you can get a receiver with displayport inputs (when they exist, lol) and use it before, OR after the screen due to its 'hub' like nature.
  25. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    448 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    It is all about clock signals on 5*** cards ,they only have output for 2 dvi/hdmi /vga , DP gives 3rd output because it does not need clock signal (but you need a monitor with DP input or an active adapter to translate signals for dvi/hdmi/vga monitors)
    Ati may add needed clock signal for 3rd monitor at future until than our choose is limited ,get a monitor with DP input or use an active adapter.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page