1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DIY Linux Gateway

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Geofrancis, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    just search for 3.5 inch motherboard, there are a lot of them on ebay but they are usually 486 or amd geode . this was the first one i saw that had a cpu over 800mhz for under £50 and dual lan
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,916 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,401
    For these two items, I'd like to offer a couple of suggestions:

    1. instead of soldering the wires directly, consider using some kind of connector in-between, just in case you need to work on it in the future.

    2. an easy way to go about this might be to cut a large hole for the fan and use some acrylic or other custom fan grills like this:

    http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g47...s-Fan_Grills-80mm_Laser_Cut_Grills-Page1.html
     
    Geofrancis says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Very cool stuff. I knew one could build a linux router, but not with this hardware.
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  4. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    1. good idea i could probably butcher a molex connector together to use as a power connector but i would like something a little more robust like a deans connector from my rc boats.

    2. i had not got as far as thinking about bling yet lol. but i do like the fan grille idea even if i didn't have to use a fan it would be a big enough opening for the heat to rise up and out the top of the case. the only thing that would worry me about that setup would be stuff falling inside the router thats why i was thinking about small holes.
     
  5. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,916 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,401
    This would work well then, if it's not too big:

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1...eycomb_Fan_Mesh_Grill_-_Black.html?tl=g47c221

    Or this one:

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1...Air_Filter_-_Black_PT-AF12-1B.html?tl=g47c221

    There's more on that site, but I imagine you want to shop local since you're across the pond.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    my internet just started freeking out it was the router overheating so i have a 50mm fan blowing in it just now till i work out my next move.
     
  7. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i think i am going to heatsink the cpu on the router so that it dissapates the heat better and once some vents are cut in the case it should be able to vent the heat out of the case without a fan.
     
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    Geofrancis says thanks.
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    This is one of the cooler as well as informative threads here in some time.
     
    Aquinus and Geofrancis say thanks.
  10. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    ordered some new parts:
    dual illuminated 12v rocker switch
    10x 4 pin red green blue leds.
    2x push button switches for power, reset and router reset.
    25mm fan and guard for the overheating problem.


    The dual 12v rocker switch is to allow me to turn both the Netgear router and VIA board on and off independently and its blue so its looks cool.

    The RGB leds will be going onto the front panel along with the switches.

    some of these will be wired to the router to replace its onboard leds. they will replace the dual colour green and orange leds for 10mbit and 100mbit and power status with red and blue.

    the rest will be used on the via board one for the power and hard drive status and 2 for the lan ports blue for lan connected and blinking red when its transmitting.

    the fan will be mounted somewhere near the front and will just be powered from one of the via boards thermally controlled fan headers. i will be heat sinking the Negear router's CPU so that it should run a lot cooler than with nothing.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
    Aquinus says thanks.
  11. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    [​IMG]

    my power switch
    [​IMG]
    Fan guard
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,542 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    When you are finished, could you please make a complete list of parts with prices.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    so far its:
    £30.00 netgear WNDR3300 router
    £26.00 Via Motherboard'
    £ 5.39 Project box
    £ 8.31 3x 5ghz antennas
    £ 2.38 2x 2.4ghz antennas
    £ 4.95 5x rp-sma leads
    £ 4.44 2x push button switches
    £ 1.42 25mm fan
    £ 1.69 fan guard
    £ 3.39 10x RGB LEDs
    £ 2.50 rocker switch

    £90.47

    plus a 12v power supply i already had.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  14. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    is there a firewall/router operating system that would run ok on my hardware but still has a gui with a bandwith monitor? i want to mount a 4.8" lcd monitor to the case so i can watch the internet speed, latency and system performance something like the Belkin N1.
     
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    IPFire maybe? Haven't used it myself yet but I believe it meets your requirements (been ported to ARM even and will run on a Raspberry Pi etc).
     
  16. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i think its only basic config in ipfire via vga. something like the damn small linux gui would be nice
     
  17. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i found some nice motherboards on ebay if anyone is looking to build something similar.
    [​IMG]
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Via-Epia-...aptopMotherboards_CPUs_CA&hash=item20ce97dbd6
    [​IMG]
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TEAN-MB89...aptopMotherboards_CPUs_CA&hash=item53e623bb55

    both are socket 479 pentium M ITX dual LAN for just £30

    [​IMG]
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HP-Asus-M...754681591?pt=Motherboards&hash=item5652b37af7

    for those wanting a little more power the HP Asus MOCA it will take a socket M core duo or core 2 duo and 3gb ddr2. and has a pcie 16x slot that will let you use a raid controller or network adapter. you also need a power supply adapter from ebay that costs $5

    i used to have one in my old server runninga passive 2ghz core 2 duo.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Geofrancis says thanks.
  19. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i dont like the atom dual core chips but the i3 would be nice! shame about the price.
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's how I feel but a gateway really doesn't need to have much power. It needs to consume as little as possible and for network routing, I'm sure a 2550 is more than up to the task.
     
  21. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    one of the i3 based celeron single cores would be plenty and give much more reliable performance.
     
  22. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    You sure about IPFire and the GUI? Says it is based off Damn Small Linux.
     
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Less heat would mean that the atom would be more reliable because it has a lower TDP and it consumes less power. So the only thing that would turn me off from the atom is 4Gb limitation, otherwise a dual-core with hyper-threading and a 10 watt TDP isn't too shabby. So all in all the claim that Atoms are less reliable is crap. A very real consideration is speed but a G2020 is going to consume that much more power for that speed and for a gateway it really isn't necessary.
     
  24. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i just mean that a powerful low TDP single core will give more predictable performance than trying to finely thread it so it runs over 4 virtual cores that will lag if one reaches 100% utilisation.
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,467 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You'll never reach 100% on network traffic alone on an Atom. At work we have a 2.0Ghz Xeon dual-core skt771 and it barely even registers load during peek hours. That power really in unnecessary and 100% utilization isn't realistic under normal operation. So as a gateway and a gateway alone, it's a waste of power and money. Also I don't think there are any 1 core skt1155 chips.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page