1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dma ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fredde, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. fredde New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    On my sys. (sys. listed), how do I enable or disable DMA on my Sata drives? I have a Sumsung SH-S203b Dvd recorder (sata) and in the Nero info tool I get a warning that DMA is disabled on this drive. On my old sys. (P4C800-E Deluxe) the Intel raid driver software provided control of dma. On the P5K Deluxe where do I find the drive settings (DMA or PIO) and how would I change them?

    Thank You.
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,947
    i think sata always uses dma?
     
    fredde says thanks.
  3. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    That's what I understood.
     
    fredde says thanks.
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but some SATA burners act as IDE drives.
     
    fredde says thanks.
  5. fredde New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I do not have IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers in the Device Manager for some reason. All I have is the Raid controller showing which does not show the dma settings. I have Raid0 setup with the Intel Raid driver, a sata storage h/d and a sata dvd-rom. My bios is set to Sata Raid. I do not see the drives and the dma/pio settings in the bios unless I temporarly set Sata to IDE in the bios. Am I doing something wrong? Is there software to force DMA?
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If it's being used as a true SATA drive, you don't have to set it for DMA. It's already using it. Nero is misreading.
     
    fredde says thanks.
  7. fredde New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I suspected that. Is there a utility that reads the mode properly?
     
  8. Grimskull New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    What version nero are you using? I installed 2 x Samsung SATA DVD burners for a PC i built and they went in perfectly on the SATA setup on the mothrerboard, but Nero 7 ultra still sees them as IDE drives.

    Tried it on my own PC (MSI K9A platinum) and they flash at boot up, but thats ok, no full SATA DVD support and again Nero 7 ultra sees them as IDE drives. I havent tried Nero 8 yet.
     
  9. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    im using nero 6, its the only one i have had working properly, all the rest are too buggy i think, but maybe thats just me, but i have had next to no problems with nero 6
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page