1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do DX9 games play well on Vista?

Discussion in 'Games' started by sttubs, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    I don't recall reading anywhere about this. I know they wouldn't look any better on Vista, but are the playable? Or should I just dual boot?
     
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I find my games play very well in vista :D and only using 2gb of ram. I prefer running them on vista because they turn on faster and you can use dx10
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    They are quite playable. Only thing I noticed was a little longer load times, but that was on my old rig with one 1 GB of RAM. With your system you won't have any problems. Only thing I had to do for Call of Duty 2 was tell it to run in XP SP2 compatibility mode. All is fine.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,124 (5.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    99% of all games are in dx9. So yes they run well, in almost all cases
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    No difference from XP to vista, my DX9 games run great with Vista X64
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  6. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I've noticed no difference between XP x64 and Vista x64 in running dx9 games.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  7. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    All my games run fine under Vista cant run dx10 cus of the gpu.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  8. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Great, thanks for the answers.
     
  9. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    are there any games that are known "not" to work in Vista ?

    a compatibility list of some kind anywhere?
     
  10. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    all mine play great. FEAR is truly beautiful on my current set up. runs great :)
     
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    All of the games I've tried on Vista, run fine.
    All the older demos I've tried work well too.
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Most games run just as good, i think that a fwe might run a few frames slower but nothing drastic.

    Only real Frames Per Second junkies would care about it.
    After 60fps humans apparently cant tell the difference, 60fps at heavy load is good enuf for me.
     
  13. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    i want to try to run far cry on mine soon. the demo won't go. horrible tearing, etc
     
  14. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    on XP Far Cry requires a Patch otherwise u get the horrible tearing u mentioned. probably the same on Vista with sounds of it.

    get the 1.3 or 1.4 patch ,it should fix it.
     
  15. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Most games i've tried work fine on Vista - Metal Gear Solid 2 doesn't work though :cry:
     
  16. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    Unless you play BF2...

    Its been nothing but trouble for me on Vista.
     
  17. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Agreed, Vista 64 runs almost all my games fine. Couple of issues I've found, FEAR's benchmarking tool reports FPS much lower than XP, Min 24 Max 45 Avg 35 as opposed to 90+ Avg with everything maxed inc Soft shadows. Its perfectly playable though, and the framerate is around 90% between 25-40 so quite stable.

    Also, any game that uses the old Direct X game controller configuration window won't work, for example MotoGP 2 and 3. The game will play but you can't configure the controller.

    Apart from that, Vista 64 FTW!
     
  18. AfterAfx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lebec, CA
    For some reason NFS: Most Wanted wont install under vista for me, but i dont know why
     
  19. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    All of my games play pretty much identically on vista SP1 (laptop w/8800mGTX) as they do on my desktop with XP Home SP3 (8800GS) In fact thanks to the slightly more powerful GPU they run slightly better on my laptop (unless I overclock my 8800GS to game).
     
  20. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    :confused: Bf2 runs fine for me man smooth as
     
  21. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    yeah i think i'll order it today and give it a go

    i love that game....love it. i used to say its my all time fave and if i play again i'll prolly fall in love with it again

    i never got to experience it "maxed out." may sound silly bcuz its got older graphics now, but i still want to. full AA, native res, and in "Paradise" mode.

    when i got the game i had an FX5200. medium and low all the way. then with a 6600GT....High, for the most part with my old p4 2.8a (a non hyperthreaded Prescott :( ) but no AA and still below native res. and no "Paradise" mode.

    i gotta have it! :cry:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page