1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do I need a better psu?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fullinfusion, Aug 30, 2013.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    I was benching my system last weekend and was pulling a decient amount of current.

    My spec's are to the left.. Is this Corsair HX 850 worthy of such a current draw?

    [​IMG]
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,056 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes, you are under its rated draw. it can handle more that its rated too.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    Thank's man. I thought I read something on this specific psu that it's actually a 1000 watt psu or am I mixing it up with another psu?
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,056 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well I know the old hx1000 PSU was technically 2 450w PSUs taped together.
     
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    Yeah for the size of the tranformers. But something about the HX 850 tells me it can run 1000 Watts all day!? :confused:
     
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Put that meter on Amps, should have that option [i think i run the same meter in my garden], check that and use Ohms law to calculate the actual power used by the PC. That 800w reading is @ 110/115/120v not 12v.

    I could be cracked out...

    Either way i think you'd be Ok long as temps are resonable TBH
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Wattage is power. 1 watt = 1 joule/second.

    PSU should be fine although you are close to its rated wattage. Since power supplies aren't 100% efficient and it is designed to deliver 850w output, your power draw at the wall for 850w output load will be 10-20% higher.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    If you're using 838W at the wall, your power supply is only a certain percent efficient, on most power supplies that ranges from 75 to 90%... your computer is using quite a bit less than the max. rating of the power supply.
     
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    Trust me I caan pull over 850 watts ;)
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  11. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,110 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,921
    Thanked for your new avatar, just beautiful! :respect: :respect: :respect:
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    Just feeling the love brother!!!
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  13. Behemot

    Behemot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    27 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Prague
    Write the specs into the thread. You change your HW, you change your sign and nobody else in the future will ever know what the thread was about.:wtf:
     
  14. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    But the Amperage, around 7A i'm guessing? At 120v or whatever your AC is. If that's correct, you'd be around 70A @ 12v which would = 840w.

    I think. :fear:

    So as long as the temps are reasonable and you don't load it like that constantly, you should be Ok
     
  15. Behemot

    Behemot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    27 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Prague
    You have no idea about power factor, what is current good for than?
     
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    With what hardware? That's a ton of draw for your specs in your profile. :confused:

    My SB-E and two 6870s fully loaded and overclocked don't even get close to touching 850-watts from the wall...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page