1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do I need a new graphics card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TechnicalFreak, May 28, 2009.

  1. TechnicalFreak Guest

    I have asked my self that question.. And now I have to ask the expert panel (all of you) the same question.

    Sure some games float like heaven, some doesn't. So what to get? See my specs at the left. I'm on a tight budget, but I have no problems getting a second hand card..
  2. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345




    To see a big increase in performance you'd need a atleast the ATI 4890 or GTX 280 to make the upgrade worthwhile.
    In my opinion, do not waste your money, your current Radeon HD3870X2 is the same speed as the ATI 4850 so its still very powerful! You're only running a 19' screen so you do not need anything more powerful than what you've got anything more powerful would be wasted on your native resolution.
  3. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    what games are you having problems with? Maybe we can help you OC your existing card to achieve the performance you desire.
  4. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    +1 for this. I don't see a need for you to upgrade at all. Unless you plan on getting a larger screen.
  5. TechnicalFreak Guest

    First of all - Thanks for the replies. Well I ain't much for FPS type of games anymore (CS:S, Crysis.. you name it). But I do like strategic cames like Supreme Commander, and at certain points it tends to lag slightly (animation lag, not network). Other than that it's rather ok.. Sure I could OC it via CCC, as I ain't running "hacked" drivers anymore. I tested to OC it once to half of the amount on both clock and memory, it did help.. But temps..

    Maybe I should invest in better cooling instead??
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    I think a new Air cooling kit would be good, then OC the hell out of that Phenom :)

    and maybe a thermaltake Duorb for the ATI card
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Unfortunately, 3870x2 was their first attempt at a dual card, so it flies on some games, is slow on others. A worth upgrade is a 4850 or higher, primarily for stability and consistency.
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    My 2 cents...4850 or 4870 for now...Then Crossfire BABY!!!! I went from 1 4850 to 2 and they scale amazingly well. Just my opinion...but truly, your 3870x2 is on par with a single 4850, but the option of crossfire would make it worth it to me. (Plus the price of the 4850 just dropped :D
  9. TechnicalFreak Guest

    Yeah, I'm looking at a 4850 right now. True, the price tag on it is very low.. So 2 of these cards would do it : MSI ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB OC (R4850-2D512-OC) ?


    EDIT: Wait a minute.. Why don't I just upgrade the rest whilst at it?? New MoBo, CPU, memory(maybe)..
    I might just get out even more then, right??
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 2, 2009
  10. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Ive run Supreme Commander on a Phenom 9950 and ATI 4850 1GB Sonic card and it ran it easy as, setting set to max never realy got below 60FPS and that was a 4-6 player game at the time. Res was 1440*900, and nothing was overclocked.

    Im surprised the 3870X2 isn't handling it, but o well 4850 1GB card is pretty cheap these days try it out?
  12. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    you serious?
    whats the budget?
  13. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    if your monitors maximum resolution is 1440 x 900, there is no need for a new gfx card......for resolutions up to 1680 x 1050 your existing card will manage for one more year at the most!

    I think you should be patient until mid OCT to mid NOV when holidays draw near and new products appear and the prices of older gear drop, which means that a couple of 4870s will be on the current price of one. Then you can spend you precious money :D
  14. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    all he has to do is buy a 720 or 940 and thats it

    his mobo might support it with a bios update
    $145-200 and your set or you can get a 955 and wait for a while then get the am3 board

    remember to check you mobo support page to see if it will work first then buy
    ----------------------------
    i checked for you and it does support 720be and the 955be!

    http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=149&l3=591&l4=0&model=1930&modelmenu=2
  15. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    true, that is probably your best choice for now...
  16. TechnicalFreak Guest

    @Assassin48: Well the XFX HD-485X-ZDFC Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16, I found it. It was even cheaper.

    Budget? 6-800 in US$ somewhere around 6-8000:-SEK. But I ain't gonna spend all on the computer. Need a better screen.. What about an LG with 50000:1, full HD and I get it like 50 bucks cheaper..

    However, the money ain't coming until July.. But I still have 30 days to pay for some of the hardware, so if I order the 25:th this month I got exactly 30 days to pay....

    @Melvis: The card can handle the game "as is", but when my friends and I have a LAN party, some have their own add ons, and that's what makes it lag like crazy. It's like when I had the old P4, and we used the 1000+ unit hack and UTASP mod (Total Annihilation) . And we were like 8 people then, same shit there. Now that game runs flawless. Now this game, not all the time, but when we bring in the big war machines.. Damn it lags. I'll have to take a pic and have fraps on just to show you what I mean.

    Yeah, I was thinking of getting another cpu, maybe start running Vista and get more memory.

    How about cooling, was talking like 3 weeks ago into getting it watercooled (it's 30C+ in my room sometimes). Might just do it with another CPU, make the rig entirely watercooled (incl. gfx card), would that be a good option?

    I know I'll have to order the parts elsewhere because here in Sweden not many companies sell it.
  17. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The Phenom 9850 BE is still powerful by today’s standards, I would attempt to overclock the CPU to around 3-3.3GHz. its definitely possible but the Agena’s need a little bit of extra love to get it overclocked but it would be cheapest alternative.

    Getting the 4850 is a waste of money, its not much faster than your current 3870X2. I would look towards selling your current GPU and purchasing the GTX260 or faster. Nothing slower!
  18. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok yea i see what ya mean, add ons can realy kill a game if its not done very well, i can understand it now, thanks for letting us know that :)

    You don't have to run fraps as there is a inbuilt one anyway, just press this key > / and you have fraps ;)

    Honestly i still think ya CPU is just fine as Supreme Commander loves Quads, just upgrade RAM and Vid card and u be set :)
  19. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    so we are looking at a 700 build with shipping this leaves 100 for a screen

    Would that be ok? Or do youneed more for a screen?

    I would get a simple 720 rig with a 4850 and 4gb of ram with a 650 psu maybe lower if you want to save money

    That 720 is all you need for games IMO
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,413 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,350
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    In your situation, with your resolution I would not even contenplate an upgrade to an HD4850 since at your res in some things it is actually slower than the 3870x2.........

    http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/visionhd4850/7.html

    The only viable upgrade path IMO is an HD4870 which will probably only see a consistent 5-10% increase, a 4890 that will see a 10-20% increase or a GTX260 or 275 but to be honest unless you want to unleash some real cash on the 4890 or GTX275 I wouldnt bother for a minimal return.
  21. TechnicalFreak Guest

    @Assassin48: No, I want a bigger screen. I have tested an LG 24". It was better than I could have imagined. So I don't know right now. But not 700 for a system, too much - overkill.
    I'm sticking with AMD so far, and so far the prices are still low..even here.

    @Tatty One: Well I was thinking of investing in a bigger screen, so would I then need a new graphics card? Or would I do fine with OC this card after letting it be watercooled?
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,413 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,350
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I would say, with a bigger screen, say 20-22inch or above then you would definatly benefit from a 4890 or GTX275 (whichever you could get cheaper as there is little or nothing in performance).
  23. TechnicalFreak Guest

    Where did the 4890 come from? I was thinking of 2 4850's..
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,413 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,350
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Why if you dont mind me asking, the performance is pretty similar, the 4890 is perhaps slightly cheaper and IMO a one card solution is always better.
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,294 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    859
    Location:
    London, UK
    +1 if game doesnt support SLI/Xfire

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page