1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do molex to PCI-E Power Adapters Exist?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Joshmcmillan, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Hi,
    I just got my new HIS HD3850 and 22" LCD but sadly my PSU doesn't have a PCI-E Power Connector. Is there any way I can still use my new video card without buying a new PSU? If I get an adapter, is it any disadvantage to having it directly from the PSU.
    :(
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,710 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,229
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,710 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,229
    nice he even gets variety!!!!!
     
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    the more the merrier :)
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,997 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'd go with the logisys one..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    ehh apevia ones are a lil flimsy, but do the job just great. just put up the first one i could find..
     
  8. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Ok, thanks. Is there any disadvantages of using the adapter?

    Is there any common place that would have it as I'm in Australia and I kind of wanted it before Christmas?
     
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,710 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,229
    Any web based pc shop should carry them.
     
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    yeah, what peet said, plenty of tech shops carry them. also theres no major disadvantages as far as i know
     
  11. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Ok 2 more questions.

    1. Is there any chance an HIS ATI Radeon 3850 256mb video card will work without the PCI-
    E power connector?

    2. Would a Thermaltake 420w PSU with 18amp on the 12v rail work with an HD3850, X2 3800+, 3gb ram and M2NPV-VM?
     
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    the psu in theory should work imo, and you do want the video card hooked up to the pci e, pci bus power just doesn't cut it.
     
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    1. no
    2. possibly,try it and see.
     
  14. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Well I tried the 3850 without the pci-e power connector and it didn't work.

    My sister needed a new PSU so she has a $42 thermaltake 430w psu there and I cld just give her my 550w antec. :(, it would be like $42 just to have video card before christmas. :(
     
  15. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yes it SHOULD run, but you never know until you try.
     
  16. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  18. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    That's one sexy looking adapter, even better looking than the one I added more wires.

    But didn't one come with our card? So far last 2-3 years every card that has PCI-e power plug has come with an adapter. Did they finally stop doing it, not so bad if they did as those adapters are cheap and not so many are needing them any more.
     
  19. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Hi,
    I a 430w Thermaltake from my sister just for the PCI-E cable, lol. It's not that bad, it was brand new and only around $40.

    Me and my older brother finally have everything working now after all of today.

    I might make a review thread of my new monitor and this card. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page