1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do you think my PSU will suffice?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Paladone, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Hey guys,
    I just have a quick question; Do you think that a 1050w Power supply will provide sufficient power for me to be able to run a http://www.cplonline.com.au/gigabyte-ati-hd7990-pci-e-3-0-6gb-768bit-ddr5-gc-r799d5-6gd-b.html and a http://ple.com.au/ViewItem.aspx?InventoryItemID=608655&CategoryID=259 together in crossfire?

    This is the specific PSU - http://ple.com.au/ViewItem.aspx?InventoryItemID=610520&CategoryID=318

    I do also have 6 case fans on top of a H100i water cooler. I am running 32gb of 2400Mhz RAM and my i7 3770k is overclocked at 4.5ghz.

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    As far as I'm aware a 1050 should be able to run 3 GPU's. It certainly has the connectors for it. (speaking from experience).
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    I am wondering why the need for 3 7970's in the first place...make sure you need them before you make that jump.

    That said, it is a quality PSU you have, and with the GPU's at stock speeds, it would not be a problem in the least. You can even likely get away with some minor overclocking.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    The OP is running a triple monitor set-up. I remember it from a previous post he/she made.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Raptorpowa

    Raptorpowa

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    48 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    That is a quality psu and yes it will handle 3x 7970.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  6. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes it will! :toast:

    I wish I could have a triple monitor setup with 3 7970's... :respect:
     
  7. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    why not 2 7990 so you can have quadfire instead? But 1050w is not sufficiend though and heat from those beast will be difficult to handle unless you put them on water...

    damn i wish I hope lots of money
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    He has a 7970 already iirc. 1050w is plenty for 2 7990s.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page