1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Do you use an anti-virus program?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Oct 24, 2008.

?

Do you use an antivirus program?

Poll closed Nov 7, 2008.
  1. Yes, with background scan

    1,204 vote(s)
    56.7%
  2. Yes, I manually scan files

    446 vote(s)
    21.0%
  3. No, and I never had problems

    373 vote(s)
    17.6%
  4. No, but I had viruses before

    99 vote(s)
    4.7%
  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    Do you use an antivirus program? or are you just very careful with the files you open? What about internet security/firewall?
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  2. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    ofcourse im using kaspersky internet security 09...
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yep, same KIS 2009.
    I cant see this poll on the front page. Does it take a little while to update?
    EDIT: I can see it now :)
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  4. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,271 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    KAV 2009 for win
    None on my Linux systems
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,435 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    UK
    Just switched from AVG free 8 to avast because the autoupdate wasn't working and it was doinf automatic scans that I couldn't stop or disable.

    Using Windows Firewall that came with Vista too, haven't had any problems with it so far.
  6. pagalms

    pagalms New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    No antivirus or firewall for me. :)
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    I have Kaspersky, but only run it when I need to scan a file, or do a system check. It's off 99% of the time.
  8. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    only firewall for me.
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Kaspersky is brilliant for me. On automatic mode, so I believe it scans every file you open, only makes a slight difference on very big files (like 3dmark installer for example), and it only uses 25mb memory :D
  10. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    an antivirus destroyed all my data with keylogger named olemdb32.dll(all data are corrupted).the only solution I've found that works,is to create a false virus(same name with read only,...)just before installed a clean XP.today i don't use any antivirus ,if i can remove it manually that's good or else i use ghost.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
  11. rockit00

    rockit00

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    224 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I use Windows Live One Care. I haven't seen a Virus, Hijack, or Adware problem since I began using One Care!:)
  12. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    IMO The problem comes from explorer.removing explorer shell and using alternative shell like litestep is the best solution.
  13. Grimskull New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I use bitdefender internet securities 2008. very happy with it!
  14. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,277 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    839
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    I have been thinking about getting One Care, so it works good, easy to use?

    I have AVG and I run Ad-Aware once a week
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I use a hardware firewall and WAP, along with AVG free and threatfire.
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I use what ever Vista packs in. It works good I guess because I have never had a virus for a long time. I think I have a firewall but I never check. If its enabled by default then I use it lol
  17. Grimskull New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    oh as a side note and i dont mean to hijack this thread... have a look here about a new security threat! get it updated and patched.
  18. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    AVG for me - Touch wood, I've had no problems
  19. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    AntiVirus only... no internet security/ software firewall (hardware firewall built into router).
    also use Adaware, Spybot S&D & Spywareblaster on my browsers
  20. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    I use nod32,seems to do a fine job.
  21. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    AVG 8 Free... protects me from spyware and viri at the same time =)
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Tried all the premium ones, didn't see anything worth paying for, back to avast. Haven't had any virus w/ this computer.
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,970 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,077
    Location:
    IA, USA
    My sole firewall is my router. I don't use any anti-viruses. I did get hit by a virus three times (2 spammers and 1 worm) in the past 5 years but, I'm always ready for a format. I've used AVs in the past and find them to not be worth the clock cycles.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,912 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    am I really really banned from voting? I can't vote anywhere?

    I get this error "Please vote for this poll on the frontpage."

    Anyway I always trust PCCillin and been using it since 2005 (with upgrades and new versions), never had problems.

    AVG is ok, but not as good as the paid ones. My wife went to an annoying Indian website and that mf infected my test pc with annoying popups. Can't get rid of it, google toolbar, yahoo, windows built-in popup blocker nothing works and it also messed up Netflix movie loader. I am just going to just format that machine.
  25. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Nod32.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page