1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does a 1080 tv ever display an image correctly...

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by Lazzer408, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    ...that's coming from a PC?

    I recently purchased two HDTVs. A 42" Hisense and a 24" Sansui. Most computer monitors, as you know, will look like $hit unless it's running at native resolution. At native, the image is nice and sharp because every pixle generated lands on a pixle in the LCD panel. LCD TVs, on the other hand, seem to -ALL- look like crap and need lots of tweaking and manual adjustment to get it to look 'ok' at best. Why is this? Do HDTVs use some odd-ball LCD panels that aren't actually 1920x1080? Everything to date leaves a black border around the desktop when using HDMI set to 1920x1080@60. It also looks as if the sharpness is cranked to infiity leaving the image very grainy and the contrast/gamma makes everything washed out.

    It's not just the HDTVs I've tried recently. It's every HDTV I've ever tried to use with a computer. I've tried onboard gfx, nvidia, ATI/AMD.

    I'm using the Sansui at the moment and the gamma is so far off my eyes are watering.

    Anyone know what I'm talking about? What's different in a 1920x1080 TV vs. a 1920x1280 monitor? What I wouldn't give to go back to 4:3 when everything worked and ran higher then this marketing magic that is "HD".
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    All 3 of my Vizio 1080P HDTVs correctly receive and display 1080P from a PC via HDMI and VGA. Don't see any color or sharpness issues either. Maybe its an AMD thing? Guess its just bad luck?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,369 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    A lot of the cheapo HDTVs accept a 1080P input but aren't actual 1080P displays.
  4. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    These claim to be 1080 panels. I'm reading about something called 4:4:4 Chroma Subsampling that may have to do with it. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1381724/official-4-4-4-chroma-subsampling-thread/30

    dub - your just lucky

    I have a saying for technology these days and it is that everything is built "good enough", as in, 90% of the consumers won't or don't notice the defects. When I buy a 1080 TV, I would assume that's 1920x1080 and that if I put a 1920x1080 signal into it that 1920x1080 pixles light up. The dozen or so TVs I've had (since HDMI came out) have never worked right with a computer. Any TV I've owned with a DVI input worked fine with a PC.

    Here's a shot from the 24".

    EDIT - Turning off cleartype text got rid of the rainbow effect but it's still fuzzy.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    The fix for everyone one of my crappy looking tv's via an HDMI/VGA/DVI input has been to disable scaling within the TV. The issue is the TV tries to scale all images including 1080P coming into it in order to remove the possibility of inputs not outputting a full 1920X1080.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  6. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    My room mate is running a 46in Philips on his Athlon x4 rig I built him and it seems to do 1080p from the vga cable just fine.
  7. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Most of the HDTVs I've seen are advertised to be 1080p, but the sad truth to most of the HDTVs the don't actually have 1920 x 1080 Pixels, what i have found out in the Manuals that come with those TVs is that,..

    They have like 1366 x 768 Pixels or less then it can upscale if you play a 1080p clip on it or run a game at 1080p. but the sad truth is most of them don't have 1920 x 1080p.

    Most manuals state something known as working resolutions 1366 x 768 and can upscale to 1920 x 1080.

    Only few HDTVs actually have the 1920 x 1080.

    On the other hand if a monitor is advertised to be 1920 x 1080p then it has that, that's why monitors are better than HDTVs
  8. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Most TVs I have seen just require some tweaking either with the TV itself or your own graphics drivers.
    DRDNA says thanks.
  9. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,258 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    One rule for all: run native rez and check the display modes (movie, photo, natural, game, etc) untill you find the one that shows computer text and icons well. On my Philips 32" (real 1950x1080pixels) all but one modes is good.
    Of course, you can tweak the gamma, contrast etc by yourself...
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,181 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    My 46" Toshiba is just as sharp as my monitors.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,258 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    do not believe :)
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,542 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    @ Lazzer, what are you using for a cable?

    I've never seen anything remotely like that, either on 27" Samsung 1080P TV/Monitor, Dell 2405FP Monitor and my 40" Sony Bravia 1080P TV.

    If the TV isn't true 1080 pixels, then scaling certainly could account for the defective image.
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,338 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    I had the problem you described but I thought it was hdmi exclusive. I used the scaling tool in ccc and now the picture fills the entire screen just as I want.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,181 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    I think it is, and I guess thats all that matters to me, its actually a samsung, look at the firmware files. My laptop passed the 4:4:4 tests too.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. patrico

    patrico

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    292 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    ireland, galway
    hiya, my lg 42" works nice for me over dhmi or rgb
  16. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Irico 32" ED 60hz 1080P here paired with a GT8600 512megs. Everything at max out in BF2 and no flickers at all even at full FPS.
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    HDMI to HDMI -or- DVI(pc side) to HDMI(tv side)

    We shouldn't have to adjust anything to force a 1080 image to fit a 1080 screen. Everything I can find online says this 42" is a 1080 but what's interesting is one of my games was trying to run at 1366 x 768 stating that was the native resolition of the display, like st.bone was saying. If I set the desktop resolution to 1366 x 768 the image will be past the borders of the screen.

    I took the 26" back to the store.

    This is a fairly good read with a bunch of other people having the exact same issue with a varity of TVs. It's an old thread but it has a lot of things to try if your having the same issue. I agree with what most of them are saying about the manufactures screwing it up.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/267972-33-1080-hdmi-hdmi-connected-quality
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  18. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,338 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    I should of stated this. In my case it was the pre 12.8 bug that amd cards have with hdmi
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    That must be alot of them. I've tried a HD5450?(some odd ball I had), 4850, 4870, 4970, 5870, and 7770. They all have this bug? Also the 8000, 9000, and 400 series nvidia that also do the EXACT same thing. Did I mention the Intel onboard also does it? lol :banghead:

    If ATI/AMD fixed anything great. I'll try it tomorrow. I think I currently have 12.6.
  20. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,338 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    Went away for me in 12.8. Even in the change log. I had the problem on 12.6
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,516 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    I see lots and lots and lots of people using hdtvs as monitors and very rarely does it look good by my standards. For it to have a shot of working like a real monitor you need a good tv and to turn any scaling on the vga end off. Then you have to find the scaling setting on your tv and hope it has one just right. On my panasonic plasma it's called "HD size 2" which the description says is cutting things down to 95%. If it all works out it should be as sharp as a monitor and not running off screen.

    I thought maybe the vga scaling blur was just a nvidia problem but my friend had the same issue with his amd card with a high end LG LCD and again the fix was the same, turn off vga scaling and find the right tv setting.
  22. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,258 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Bugs and technical issues like scaling apart, it is all related to what you do with the HDTV (writing jobs, design, games or movies...)+working distance+resolution

    My 32" 1950x1040 HDTV is brilliant for everything but only good enough for text, it is just 99% sharp at 80 cm distance.

    It is quite obvious (should be) that a 24" 1950x1040 monitor is much sharper... so people with a monster 40" HDTV as monitor (how the hell!?) will have to have huge resolutions like 2500x1600 (just an invented example) to see sharp text at close distance (or work 2 meters away from the screen).
  23. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    12.8 didn't change anything for me. I think the panel in this TV might be some oddball resolution. Either that or something between the input and the panel is scaling the image and I can't disable it. No matter what I try, I have to use scaling via. CCC to make it fit the entire screen but it's still not in alignment with the panel pixles. Oh well. Next time I'll be sure to get a 4-4-4 TV.

    EDIT - So I had to try something. I forgot if I tried it before but here's what WORKS. Using a DVI to VGA adaptor at the PC, and a VGA to VGA cable to the TV, and making a custom 1920x1080@60 resolution = RAZOR SHARP TEXT!! HDMI is over-rated and over-hyped and under-developed. That said, Walmart's $368 42" HiSense LED TV works great with a PC!

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hisense-42-Class-LED-LCD-1080p-60Hz-HDTV-F42K20E/20549808
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2012
  24. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    AMD and Nvidia to Vizio and Samsung TVs and they both displayed 1080p perfectly
  25. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,338 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,475
    Mines a vizeo. Same as the one in specs <--
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page