1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does anyone have a 770? and can give me some feedback on it?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by tuunade988, May 10, 2014.

  1. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I have already returned 1 AMD RADEON ATI GRAPHICS cards to my shop and my 2nd ATI card that i got from them is in the proccess of being returned, i had the r9 280x ASUS which artifacted like crazy, and had just recently got the r9 290 GIGABYTE WINDFORCE yesterday, which is giving me black screens, freezing my computer and crashing it. Im fed up with AMD and their trash coz i know its not the shops fault as i have done some research and heaps of other people over the internet have the exact same problems as i do with the exact same cards. So now im just wondering how reliable is the gtx 770 EVGA 4gb version, is it as screwed as the new R9 series?
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,294 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,897
    Location:
    Oregon
    I wouldn't be so quick to blame AMD. Ive set up a few and not one issue. But the GTX770 are a great card also. Might be your board. Fill your specs out completely. OS? Memory?
     
  3. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Im not ready to get another ati, i blame AMD because not only gigabyte or asus has the problems EVERY SINGLE CARD does... if you search up 280x artifacting and r9 290 black screens YOU WOULD KNOW WHAT I MEAN. So im fed up with AMD and cannot be borthered to deal with them anymore. nvidia is my next choice.

    my specs are as follows.
    ASROCK 980DE3/U3S3 Motherboard.
    AMD 1100t 3.3ghz 6cores
    16gb RAM
    windows 7 64bit
    CORSAIR 850HX series power supply

    EDIT: surely my powrsupply is more than enough for a 290 and a 280x.. i previously had a 7870 sadly i sold it which i shouldn't of coz it worked PERFECTLY.
     
  4. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I don't blame gigabyte at all, my 7870 was a gigabyte and it worked perfectly... NO PROBLEMS WHAT SO EVER. I blame amd for releasing faulty cards out into the market and pissing offf people with it.
    EDIT: im thinking about the EVGA 770 4gb version
     
  5. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    lol, no 98 jus random number im born in 1994. 20 years old now. You should tell your friend to do some more research before he buys any r9 series cards. If you look on the amd forums about r9 290 having balck screens. just check out the threads on their forums, the amount of views and replies it has. its not just the AMD forums other forums as well.. the 280x is just the same.
     
  6. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    what so pass experiences you had really bad geforce cards? and gigabyte was mainly the cause? soooooo if i were to get a sapphire tri-x 290....
    Just keep in mind apparently the rev 1.0 batch of r9 290 cards hae a high chance of having the screwed up problems im having..


    EDIT: looking at my specs they're fine right? its all the cards fault that everythings not working?
     
  7. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    The EVGA 770 is a solid choice. Get the 2GB, there isn't any benefit to the 4GB.
    EVGA have a good reputation for reliability.


    My 770 is very nice, runs any 1080P game at ultra.
     
  8. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I just had a look on the geforce forums, and the 770 is too plagued with black screens. Apparently with dual monitor setups only though. Havent heard anything about single setups.
     
  9. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    oh snap i can see why you hate gigabyte. Holy crap, yeah i was thinking of EVGA for the 770 anyway, what brand did u say the 770 was? the one u tested? and 120 fpss!!! i doubt i will get that with my AMD 1100t.. specially without mantle either.

    EDIT: yeh i've had really bad experiences with AMD so far in the past 2 weeks.. i don't think im ready to be traumatized again with another dfective r9 290.
     
  10. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    sigh..... not sure if i wanna risk it. At this point i might as well just go switch to shitty console gaming.. starting to get sick of this computer stuff.

    Hoping the evga is good enough... if i get it and its defective i iwould have to have the wurse luck on this planet.

    EDIT: 2 defective cards in 2 weeks.. returned to my computer shop... a 3rd one is just gonna look very stupid.
    but if its a driver issue like you said, i can wait for drivers to fix it..
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,894 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,867
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  12. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,742 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    wow all the gigabyte cards I've had from Nvidia have been just fine.

    2X 460 768mb (reference and overclock editions)
    1X 570 (reference)
    1X 580 (Super Overclock)

    Although I've recently sold these in the last month, they all worked fine....

    770 is a solid choice, expect it to perform around the 280x/7970 level. 770s also overclock like beasts. I'd choose Gigabyte or EVGA. Although after your issues I can understand your frustration (I'd never buy a Volkswagen group car again for example). So EVGA might be the best choice from your point of view.
     
  13. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    if the evga has problems. IM GONNA CRY!! literally.... I've asked many people and my computer hardware is compatible. So it cant be my other hardware.

    CONSOLE gaming is my last last last solution, i hate console online gaming with a passion... but if it comes to that i might as well just quit gaming in general.
     
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,040
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I have the Gigabyte Geforce GTX770 Windforce 2GB and have had it for about a year now...been an AMAZING card. Can do a job of keeping semi quiet on most games that don't fully load it..and I don't need 100% to keep it at decent temps. It goes up to 1228 core. Drivers have been solid. Have no need to OC it at all for smooth 1080p gaming. Sorry about your AMD card...that should've been a beast.
     
  15. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    beast at crapping it self. Are you running a dual monitor setup or single?
     
  16. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Awesome miomol sounds good than.. might jsut do that... if it craps it self as well in the first 2 weeks i mgetting a refund...
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,705 (12.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,561
    Unless it is somehow failing, which can happen. I know plenty of people with AMD cards that don't have the issues you describe. That's not saying it's not true though.

    I've always liked Evga, their support is great and they are pretty much the top tier vendor for Nvidia.
     
  18. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Ok thank you, EVGA it is.. I don't know maybe i just got really unlucky and decided to buy from a shop that had the bad batch still in stock.
     
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,294 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,897
    Location:
    Oregon
    Why are you buying from shops?
     
  20. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    shop/store, i live in Australia i bought it from mwave.com.au
     
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    I have no problem with my PNY 770 but it ran hot, after repaste the heatsink was kind of loose and would shift. I could have probably fixed it with Shin Etsu paste alone but went with a new cooler as well.

    From what I found, all my dead cards were bought used and overclocked by me. Therefore I don't buy used cards or overclock cards 24/7 anymore LOL.

    Anyway, stable as a rock with this Geforce 770. The Radeon 7970 I had before was very unstable.

    History:
    new Diamond Stealth: still works
    new 3dfx Voodoo3: still works
    new Nvidia Geforce 2 Pro: still works, lost it (threw away?)
    new Sapphire Radeon 9800SE: so slow I never ended up using it
    new Chaintech Geforce 5900XT: still works
    used Sapphire Radeon X800XL: dead (bios oc)
    new BFG Geforce 7600GT: still works
    used EVGA Geforce 7800GT: dead (riva tuner oc, zalman cooler)
    used 2x XFX Radeon HD 6850s: still works
    new XFX Radeon HD 7850: still works
    refurbished Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970: unstable, sold, total garbage
    new PNY Geforce GTX 770: still works
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2014
  22. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Ahh ok.. yeah my mind is set on the evga 770, hoping it will work 100% fine for me... I don't plan on overclocking or anything I'm usually happy with what I get. Is the 4gb version worth it? I'm Initially upgrading From a 7870. Sadly I sold that though but yeah I want a future proof card, and as I bought the r9 290 it's about the same price as the evga 770 4gb so I won't have to pay any extra or anything. So should I get the 2gb or 4gb? I'm only using one monitor 1080p

    I'm thinking of 4gb because I really want a future proof one.
     
  23. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,742 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    tbh the 770 won't be able to take full advantage of the 4gb. And at 1080p, you won't be needing 4gb. I can see why you want the 4gb because of future proofing but I don't think 4gb on a 770 would be a wise choice. Also at the price of a 4gb 770, I think you would be better off spending an extra ~$80 and getting a 780.

    Review of an EVGA 4gb ACX Classified
    http://www.hitechlegion.com/reviews/graphics/36599-evga-770-dual-classified?showall=&start=4
    It has an insane overclock too out of the box so the overclock is most likely the main contributing factor to it's increased performance over a normal one.

    Also with buying from shops I don't know where you are in Australia but I've had extremely good service from Umart and Computer Alliance. If you need it posted, PCCasegear is pretty good too.
     
  24. tuunade988

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    The overclock is what kinda concerns me as well.. the 280x had problems due to factory overclocks, which led to vrm issues, and therefore artifacts. Hmm maybe I should just get the 2gb to be on the safe side since a lot more people would most likely have it instead of 4gb. I'm trying my best not to run into anymore problems that makes my computer unstable and unplayable.
     
  25. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,144 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page