1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does decreasing the multi for higher FSB improve or decrease frame rates in games?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by EastCoasthandle, May 19, 2008.

?

Lower multi + higher FSB + Higher ram freq. = better frame rates in games?

Poll closed May 26, 2008.
  1. Yes, I've noticed higher frame rates in games

    2 vote(s)
    5.4%
  2. Yes, higher in game frame rates and higher memory benchmark scores

    9 vote(s)
    24.3%
  3. No difference for me in games

    10 vote(s)
    27.0%
  4. Improvements only found in memory benchmark programs

    11 vote(s)
    29.7%
  5. Lower in game frame rates for me

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Lower in game frame rates but higher memory benchmark scores

    2 vote(s)
    5.4%
  7. Other, I will post why

    3 vote(s)
    8.1%
  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    now would oc'ing with a lower multi require less voltage on cpu?
  2. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Right: the only thing i noticed was the change in the NB strap.

    1 increment only, in the VCore BIOS setting. It's only a tad bit lower, but it was lower.
  3. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I got the same thing when I dropped to 7x @ 3.2, I dropped the voltage on my chip by 1 increment also and remained stable, although my ram took .05 more.
  4. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    The BIG problem with raising the FSB is the higher PL (tRD) value:

    http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=3208&p=9

    The bigger the PL, the slower your RAM gets.


    @ EastCoasthandle: could you try, using the settings of your previous pics (including the one with PL6), to RAR about 1 GB of files and post your results?

    There will be differences ...


    Also, a dumb question:

    Don't games use graphic card memory only except during load times?
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Games use both heavily, more heavily depending on the game.
  6. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    But isn't the graphic card's RAM faster the the system one? If so, a little increase in system RAM speed isn't going to make much difference ...

    It's like system RAM VS pagefile!
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Video ram is only used for graphics. But yes video ram is generally faster.
  8. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    And it would explain why there's little to no difference in games.
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    This is not 1gig of files but it does prove the point.




    I will have to do the others at a later time/date...sorry :eek:


    [​IMG]
    400x9 PL6 = 1793




    [​IMG]
    400x9 PL7 = 1755
    Last edited: May 20, 2008
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    [​IMG]
    450x8 @ 1080 = 1812 using

    [​IMG]
    450x8 @ 1128 = 1857
  11. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    That's about 7% difference (in the time), which is significant. Maybe 1 GB of files isn't enough for a comparison :(
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Well I ran it-

    Supreme commander e6750 @ 2.66 DDR2-666 42.1 FPS Average
    Supreme commander e6750 @ 2.66 DDR2-886 45.8 FPS Average

    So as I said before ram intensive game with a good difference in speed shows a change.
    By the way those averages were a average of 10 runs, and at 886 it was always 2-4 fps ahead.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    what was the sim speed of the game. sup coms FPS is very erratic, especially depending on zoom level, while the sim speed is a good indication of ram and CPU performance.
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    The actual benchmark the game has.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    the in game benchmark was reported on their games forums to be a bit dodgy lately... but ok, thats a fair test for FPS, especially since you ran it multiple times.
  16. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I have to agree, the benchmark results for this game are erratic, regardless of the number of times you repeat them. Using a game that offers consistent benchmarks from one run to the next would be a bit more creditable in my book. Here is another example:
    1428FSB = 17248
    1776FSB = 17493
    1800FSB = 17447

    It's also interesting that when they tested the PC2-9136 with a 780i board from one FSB to another (using EPP) game results are nearly the same.
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    supreme commander is only worth testing if you use the perftest results, but thats DEFINATELY broken in the latest patches/expansion (its capped and hardly ever changes results on most systems)

    The best way to use that is to run a game, and save a replay - go back to the same time and see what the results are. (for example, if you get -3 sim speed exactly one hour in, the replay would be an accurate representation of that same CPU/ram load, and any improvements would show up there)

    Edit: heres a screenshot. Esp in multiplayer games, the game slows down to match the slowest player - so even tho the game may be set to +10 speed, you'd be getting 90FPS because some other dude has crippled you down to -2.

    As shown in this screeny, even tho there is only a totally wasted AI left, i'm still stuck at +4 since the AI in this game... well it kinda cripples the speed.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I don't have the expansion, and I just reinstalled it to run the test, no patches at all.
    I'll run some Crysis tests or Vegas:2 tests later here.
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    [​IMG]
    400x9 @ 1066
    Min 26.33 FPS
    Max 46.65 FPS
    Avg 38.735 FPS


    [​IMG]
    450x8 @ 1080
    Min 26.87 FPS
    Max 46.68 FPS
    Avg 38.775


    [​IMG]
    450x8 @ 1128
    Min 27.79 FPS
    Max 46.16 FPS
    Avg 38.785
    Sorry, I forgot to scroll the doc up but the score is found on the benchmark tool itself.


    Minimal frame rates results did increase but minuscule in my book. Max frame rates were sporadic at best and didnt' show linear gains from one dram frequency to the next. I didn't include the CPU/Dram settings in all of the photos this time around. Sorry about that!
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I wonder what games people are playing to say they notice a difference?
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,954 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,336
    I did run some benchmarks, i found out the FSB being at 207 and multi at 11 was the same as the FSB being at 222x10.5, so its best off to have a Slightly higher Multi.
  22. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Currently, i know of no games that increase by a considerable amount (more then 1 FPS or so), which is why i voted for only memory bench progs.

    The same can't be said for programs that make heavy use of memory, such as encoding ones, though:

    [​IMG]
    This is with a PL of 6

    [​IMG]
    This is with a PL of 7

    The above tests were conducted on the same movie: i only changed the PL, the multi and FSB (and some voltages: different ones in one or two instances).

    Had i used a PL of 7 for both, the disparity should be even bigger, i believe.

    EDIT

    That's slightly over 6.5% reduction: from 757 seconds to 707 seconds!

    It's a significant number!!
    Last edited: May 23, 2008
  23. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Their ram is probably a good bit slower, most of us with faster machines are starting our ram at 800+ our ram is not a bottleneck.

    Increasing the FSB and dropping your multi is really only going to help you in a ram bottleneck type issue.
  24. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    [​IMG]
    PL7
    9x multi
    1093 Dram Frequency

    All settings are the same as before.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page