1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does RAM speed make a difference?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by OrbitzXT, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    On a fairly recent system, how much impact does RAM speed really have? I have DDR3 1600 MHz at the moment, I recently upgraded from 1333 MHz, the benchmark (Maxxmem) I ran showed a nice little improvement, but does that really translate into higher FPS or other real world performance increase? My motherboard allows for 2133 MHz RAM, and my friend was looking to buy 1600 MHz RAM so I was thinking of upgrading and giving him mine if it'll really make a difference. So does it matter much aside from benchmarking numbers?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,951 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,378
    The difference is minimal.
     
    OrbitzXT says thanks.
  3. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Latency matters more. I can actually turn the frequency up on my cpu/memory, but need to set the latency slower, it does better like this.
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I highly doubt you'll ever notice the difference in latency in any real world application.
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    That's about it. I mean outside of benchmarks you would hard pressed to see any kind of difference in RAM speeds.
     
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    In your specific case, I advise you to read this.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
    qubit and INSTG8R say thanks.
  7. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    if you can get a good 2133mhz at like 9-9-9-24-1T i'd take that. if thhey need looser timings I wouldnt bother. the speed difference is minimal.
     
  8. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    The article JP posted pretty well summed up what I already knew. 1600 is the "sweet spot" for Sandy Bridge the gains at anything higher are so minimal it's not really worth the extra cash.
     
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Great link, thanks. :toast:

    I got bog standard DDR3-1600 for my 2700K because I remembered something about fancy high speed RAM not making a difference on it and it's nice to be confirmed right.
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,991 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    Seems like DDR3 is so fast even low-end 1333 kits are more than enough to meet today's memory needs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yep ditto. Couldn't beat the price on my Vengence, great bang for the buck.

    You need to update your specs Mr.;)
     
    qubit says thanks.
  13. Xiphos

    Xiphos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    all the benchs i've seen so far are all for the intel camp.
    how does memory speed scale on the amd side?
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yeah, I got Vengeance too - two blue and two black to match the memory slots, lol for a total of 16GB. No, I don't need that much. :D

    I will indeed be updating them, but it's not yet been commissioned (now there's a big word from qubit) so the old specs remain in place for now, but I'll put a little note on them. :) It's still currently sitting on my testing frame having unspeakable things done to it with software setup and testing...

    I'll be updating my Sandy build thread soon about this, too.
     
  15. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Stop fiddling with it already and get in a case and start using it:wtf:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,562 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    With 1366 the difference between 1600mhz @ say cas 6 vs 9 was pretty notable even just in daily use. With 1155 the emphasis seems to be more on clock speed. Either way it's by no means epic.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page