1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Does this make any sense?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Black Panther, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    It's about my daughter's computer.

    Every time I remove (and re-connect obviously) the power cable connecting PSU to wall socket, the computer refuses to POST. No beeps.

    To get it to POST again I'd have to remove and re-insert the graphics card.

    If this happened only once I'd have thought it was a coincidence. But it happened three times already.

    Otherwise the pc works perfectly. Always turns on, never freezes, never bsods...

    What on earth does the power cable have to do with the vga?
    :wtf:
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    thats the weirdest thing i ever heard. the only thing that came to my head: try using another cable for the wall socket or another 6 pin connector for the videocard
     
  3. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Static build-up is the only thing that comes to mind, i used to have a pc that if i switched plug sockets for it i'd have to unplug and re-plugin the motherboard connectors, else it would be dead (no boot/post).

    I never narrowed down how to fix the problem (replaced that POS after a short time), if you have a spare power supply try that in the pc instead of what you have in there now.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Sounds like some sort of circuit protection feature of the PSU is causing the problem or the PSU is just going bad.
     
  5. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    that's very very odd. Though I have to agree with erocker on both points. What kind of PSU is it? Any special features on it?

    Could be the connector to the VGA card as well. Bad wiring or connection?
     
  6. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Hard to imagine what may cause this. I suggest you try and see if reseting CMOS does the same as re seating the graphics card. If so, maybe the mobo battery is sad.
     
  7. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Somethings out of wack.
     
  8. Clivuss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Wierd! Have you tried re-seating the RAM? If you have already done that, then you could try checking the system BIOS config. Usually there's a setting that influences how the system reacts to a power outage - Something along the lines of "On Power Failure" and options to Shut down, resume/restart or standby. Whatever it's currently set to, try changing it for an alternate option and see if that resolves the issue. Other than that, I would suspect either the PSU shorting out (after unplugging, try pressing the power button on your PC to discharge any residual power before plugging it back into the mains), or maybe the systemboard or VGA card itself could be faulty. (Check for odd shaped "domed" or leaking capacitors). Good luck.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page